Dieser Artikel ist auch verfügbar auf: Deutsch

Krabi Island Hopping is one of the most popular things to do amongst travelers in Southern Thailand. The region of Krabi offers countless islands, which are great for island hopping.

From big islands where you can stay overnight and spend some time like Koh Lanta or Koh Phi Phi, to small islands for a great Krabi island hopping day trip.

The 9 most beautiful and popular islands off the coast of Krabi

To get a good overview of the most popular islands, we will introduce you to 9 islands of the Krabi region in our Krabi island hopping guide. You can reach all the islands with a ferry from Krabi town or with a longtail or speedboat from Ao Nang.


How to get to Krabi

Krabi island hopping: Tours and tickets


1. Koh Poda

Koh Poda is located off the coast of Ao Nang and is mostly visited by day trips. You can either do a big tour with a speedboat and lots of other people or just buy a ticket for a longtail boat at the Ao Nang Beach.

Currently a ticket for the longtail boat is about 300 baht and the ride will take 15 to 20 minutes. Koh Poda itself is a small island with crystal clear water and a white sand beach. You can also see a few colorful fish while snorkeling in front of Koh Poda. A gorgeous island for a day trip from Ao Nang.

Koh Poda off the coast of Ao Nang, Krabi

You can find further information about the trip to Koh Poda and the national park fee in our article Koh Poda – a paradise in Krabi.

2. Chicken Island & Tub Island

Chicken Island and Tub Island are also located off the coast of Ao Nang. They are just a little bit further than Koh Poda and you can reach them on the same way with a longtail boat. The two islands are connected with a sandbank, which you can cross during low tide.

We can absolutely recommend a day trip to Chicken Island. You can have an amazing view at those islands from the Chicken Island viewpoint, swim in the crystal clear water or walk along the sandbank to Tub Island.

The view at Chicken Island and Tub Island in Krabi

Info: You can visit Koh Poda, Chicken Island and Tub Island in combination on a day trip from Ao Nang.

3. Hong Island

Hong Island is the next paradise-like island that is also located in the Krabi region. You can either rent a longtail boat for 2500 baht (up to 6 people) or do an organized tour.

There is for example the 5 Islands Tour, which goes to Hong Island including the Hong Island Lagoon and the islands of Koh Pak Bia, Koh Lao Lading and Daeng Island. The price for a tour like this is about 800 to 2000 baht per person, depending whether you take the tour with a speed or longtail boat.

The bay of Hong Island in Krabi

The amazing beach of Hong Island is separated by a huge rock into two parts. During the high season it can get very crowded on the island, which means you should start your trip in the early morning to have the paradise almost for yourself.

The water is very clear and you can see plenty of colorful fish while snorkeling. You can find out what a trip to this island looks like in our Hong Island article.

Hong Island's blue lagoon, Krabi

4. Koh Phi Phi Don

Koh Phi Phi consists of two islands. On the main island Koh Phi Phi Don you can find lots of accommodations, restaurants, bars, beaches and viewpoints. However, the actually really beautiful island is overrun by tourists and backpackers.

If you want to visit the island anyway, then you can take a ferry from Krabi Town, Ao Nang or Phuket to Koh Phi Phi. The trip takes about 1 hour and 30 minutes and costs 400 baht per person. You can book this trip with any travel agency in one of the mentioned places.

The view from the Koh Phi Phi viewpoint, Krabi

Take a look at our video from the last three-night stay on Koh Phi Phi.

5. Koh Phi Phi Leh

Koh Phi Phi Leh is the smaller one of the Koh Phi Phi islands. You won’t find any accommodations on the island because all the visitors are coming with day trips only. Especially popular is the Maya Bay, where the movie The Beach was filmed. Unfortunately, the beach is therefore extremely overrun by tourists and despite the beautiful scenery not a paradise anymore.

But in addition to the Maya Bay, Koh Phi Phi Leh has to offer other beautiful parts. I personally prefer the Lo Sama Bay. There are also some longtail boats but there aren’t too many visitors and you can still enjoy your little piece of paradise.

The Lo Sama Bay on Koh Phi Phi Leh in Krabi
The Lo Sama Bay on Koh Phi Phi Leh

The trips to Maya bay are offered everywhere on Koh Phi Phi and even in Phuket or Krabi. If you really like to see the bay, we recommend you to rent your own longtail boat on Koh Phi Phi Don and go there in the very early morning. Then there will be at least a chance that the beach isn’t too crowded.

6. Bamboo Island

Bamboo Island is located just north of Koh Phi Phi. It’s very popular with visitors coming for a day trip. You can also do a trip from e.g. Ao Nang by speedboat. Many visitors come to do some snorkeling, relaxing on the beautiful white sand beach or to go swimming.

The neighboring island Koh Jung (also known as Mosquito Island) is also visited by those day trips very often. Usually it’s only a short stop before heading on to the famous Maya Bay.

Bamboo Island, Koh Phi Phi, Krabi

Info: There are day trips offered from Koh Phi Phi Don to Monkey Beach, Koh Phi Phi Leh and Bamboo Island, including snorkeling.

7. Koh Lanta

Koh Lanta is a really quiet and calm island in Krabi. Although the island is a little bit bigger, it has been spared from the mass tourism until now.

It’s best to get to Koh Lanta from Krabi Town. You can take either the direct ferry to the island or take a minivan along the mainland and continue with a shorter ferry ride to Koh Lanta.

The Klong Dao Beach on Koh Lanta in Krabi
The beautiful Klong Dao Beach

The island can be perfectly explored with a scooter. You can take as much time as you want for everything, discover Koh Lanta’s beaches, the National Park in the south, Koh Lanta Old Town and so much more. There is not too much traffic on the island so you can enjoy the tranquility of Koh Lanta and enjoy the beautiful nature the island has to offer.

The Mu Koh Lanta National Park on Koh Lanta, Region Krabi

8. Koh Jum

Koh Jum, also known under the name Koh Pu, is located a little bit north of Koh Lanta. There are only a few hotels and resorts on the very natural island and this is why it’s becoming more popular only very slowly. It’s also very popular with snorkeling visitors. There are a lot of corals off the coast and many fish in the sea.

The island is very undeveloped with tourists and has kept its charm over the years. Here you can relax, snorkel, swim and watch fantastic sunsets with a view at Koh Phi Phi. Koh Jum is perfect to unwind a bit.

The beach on the lonely island of Koh Jum, Krabi, Thailand

During the high season there are some ferries operating from Koh Lanta to Koh Jum. Otherwise you can reach the island best from Krabi Town. There is a bus going to the Laem Kruat Pier (about 100 baht) and from there you have to take a boat for about 70 baht to Koh Jum.

9. Koh Ngai

Koh Ngai is indeed mostly approached from Trang, but there is also a connection from Koh Lanta. Also, Koh Ngai administratively belongs to the region of Krabi.

The island is also known as Koh Hai, located near Koh Mook and often visited by day trips. Additionally, there are also a few hotels on Koh Ngai where you can stay overnight.

The view at the beach of Koh Ngai, Krabi

The island itself is a beautiful paradise. Perfectly clear water, a white sand beach, a stunning scenery with all those islands in the ocean and the mainland in the distance. Some amazing postcard pictures.

How to get to that dreamlike island, you can learn in our Koh Ngai article.

Have you ever done island hopping in Krabi? Which is your favorite island in Krabi? Leave us some feedback in the comments below!

Photos: Photo 7 (Bamboo Island) – Maxim Tupikov/shutterstock.com, Photo 11 (Koh Jum) – bang tongkeawsawat/shutterstock.com

You might also like

Tobi

Hi, I'm Tobi, a passionate travel blogger and freelancer in translations and copy writing. Mostly I travel around Southeast Asia and work remotely from different locations. If you want to know where I am or what I'm doing, just follow me on Twitter, Instagram or Facebook.

This post is also available in: English

Krabi Island Hopping ist eines der beliebtesten Dinge bei Reisenden in Südthailand. Die Region Krabi bietet unzählige Inseln, die sich perfekt zum Island Hopping anbieten.

Von größeren Inseln, auf denen du übernachten und eine längere Zeit verbringen kannst, wie Koh Lanta oder Koh Phi Phi, bis hin zu kleineren Inseln für eine Krabi Island Hopping Tagestour.

Die 9 schönsten und beliebtesten Inseln vor Krabi

Damit du einen guten Überblick der beliebtesten Inseln bekommst, stellen wir dir in diesem Krabi Island Hopping Guide einmal 9 Inseln der Region Krabi vor. Alle diese Inseln kannst du entweder mit einer Fähre von Krabi Town oder mit einem Longtailboot oder Speedboot von Ao Nang erreichen.


Anreise nach Krabi

Krabi Island Hopping: Touren und Tickets


1. Koh Poda

Koh Poda liegt vor der Küste von Ao Nang und wird viel von Tagestouren angefahren. Hier kannst du entweder eine größere Tour mit dem Speedboat und vielen weiteren Menschen machen oder mit dem Longtailboot von Ao Nang Beach hinfahren.

Ein Ticket mit dem Longtailboot kostet derzeit 300 Baht und die Bootsfahrt dauert ca. 15-20 Minuten. Koh Poda selbst ist eine kleine Insel mit traumhaftem Wasser und weißem Sandstrand. Auch ein paar Fische kannst du beim Schnorcheln vor Koh Poda entdecken. Eine tolle Insel für einen Tagesausflug von Ao Nang.

Koh Poda vor der Küste von Ao Nang, Krabi

Weitere Infos zur Anreise, den Möglichkeiten vor Ort und den Nationalparkgebühren findest du in unserem Artikel Koh Poda – ein Paradies vor Krabis Küste.

2. Chicken Island & Tub Island

Chicken Island und Tub Island liegen ebenfalls vor der Küste von Ao Nang. Sie sind nur ein kleines Stück weiter als Koh Poda und auf demselben Weg mit einem Longtailboot zu erreichen. Die beiden Inseln sind mit einer Sandbank verbunden, die du bei Ebbe überqueren kannst.

Wir können dir einen Tagesausflug nach Chicken Island absolut empfehlen. Dort kannst du dir die beiden Inseln von einem kleinen Viewpoint ansehen, im glasklaren türkisen Wasser schwimmen gehen oder über die Sandbank nach Tub Island gehen.

Aussicht auf Chicken Island und Tub Island in Krabi

Info: Koh Poda, Chicken Island und Tub Island kannst du auch zusammen auf einer Tagestour von Ao Nang besuchen.

3. Hong Island

Hong Island ist die nächste paradiesische Insel, die in der Region Krabi liegt. Hier kannst du dir entweder ein Longtailboot für ca. 2500 Baht anmieten (geeignet für bis zu 6 Personen) oder an einer Tour teilnehmen.

Nach Hong Island fährt z.B. die 5 Islands Tour, die neben Hong Island noch zur Hong Island Lagune fährt und die Inseln Koh Pak Bia, Koh Lao Lading und Daeng Island ansteuert. Der Preis hierfür liegt zwischen 800 und 2000 Baht pro Person, je nachdem ob du die Tour mit einem Speedboat oder Longtailboot unternimmst.

Die Bucht von Hong Island in Krabi

Der durch einen großen Felsen in zwei Abschnitte geteilte Strand ist wirklich traumhaft und diente schon als Kulisse für „Deutschland sucht den Superstar“. In der Hauptsaison kann es hier tagsüber etwas voll werden, also am besten früh morgens nach Hong Island starten.

Das Wasser ist wunderschön klar und auch Fische findest du hier beim Schnorcheln im Wasser. Wie so eine Tour mit dem Longtailboot in Krabis Inselwelt aussieht, haben wir in unserem Hong Island Artikel beschrieben.

Hong Islands blaue Lagune, Krabi

4. Koh Phi Phi Don

Koh Phi Phi besteht aus zwei Inseln. Auf der Hauptinsel Koh Phi Phi Don findest du viele Unterkünfte, Restaurants, Bars, Strände und Viewpoints. Die eigentlich wunderschöne Insel ist jedoch SEHR überlaufen von Touristen und Backpackern.

Wenn du dir die Insel trotzdem anschauen möchtest, kannst du einfach mit einer Fähre von Krabi Town, Ao Nang oder auch Phuket nach Koh Phi Phi fahren. Die Überfahrt dauert ca. 1 Stunde und 30 Minuten und kostet 400 Baht pro Person. Buchen kannst du diesen Trip in jeder Travel Agency in den genannten Orten.

Die Aussicht vom Viewpoint auf Koh Phi Phi Don in Krabi

Hier findest du ein Video vom unserem letzten dreitägigen Aufenthalt auf Koh Phi Phi.

5. Koh Phi Phi Leh

Koh Phi Phi Leh ist die kleinere der beiden Koh Phi Phi Inseln. Auf ihr findest du auch keine Unterkünfte, sondern alle Besucher kommen mit Tagestouren hierher. Besonders beliebt ist die Maya Bay, wo auch der Film The Beach gedreht wurde und spielt. Leider ist dieser Strand dadurch auch von Tagestouristen EXTREM überlaufen und trotz der tollen Kulisse nicht mehr so paradiesisch.

Neben der Maya Bay hat Koh Phi Phi Leh aber noch einige andere schöne Abschnitte zu bieten. Ich persönlich bevorzuge die Lo Sama Bay. Hier liegen zwar auch ein paar Longtailboote vor Ort, aber die Besucher halten sich noch in Grenzen und du kannst dieses kleine Stück Paradies wirklich noch etwas genießen.

Die Lo Sama Bay auf Koh Phi Phi Leh in Krabi
Die Lo Sama Bay auf Koh Phi Phi Leh

Touren zur Maya Bay werden die überall auf Koh Phi Phi und auch auf Phuket oder in Krabi angeboten. Wenn du die Bucht besuchen möchtest, raten wir dir ein Longtailboot auf Koh Phi Phi Don anzumieten und sehr früh morgens zu starten. So besteht zumindest die Chance, dass der Strand nicht allzu voll ist.

6. Bamboo Island

Bamboo Island liegt etwas nördlich und nicht weit von Koh Phi Phi entfernt. Sie ist bei Besuchern ein beliebtes Ziel für Tagesausflüge. Auch kommen einige Ausflüge aus z.B. Ao Nang mit dem Speedboat hierher. Viele Besucher kommen zum Schnorcheln oder um sich etwas an dem traumhaft weißen Strand zu entspannen oder schwimmen zu gehen.

Auch die benachbarte Insel Koh Jung (auch als Mosquito Island bekannt) wird oft von diesen Tagestouren angefahren. Meistens wird hier jedoch nur ein kurzer Halt eingelegt, bevor die Besucher allesamt zur Maya Bay weiterfahren.

Bamboo Island, Koh Phi Phi, Krabi

Info: Ab Koh Phi Phi Don werden auch Tagestouren zum Schnorcheln mit Aufenthalten am Monkey Beach, Koh Phi Phi Leh und Bamboo Island angeboten.

7. Koh Lanta

Koh Lanta ist eine noch relativ ruhige Insel in der Region Krabi. Obwohl sie schon etwas größer ist, wurde sie bisher vom Massentourismus verschont.

Die Anreise nach Koh Lanta eignet sich am besten von Krabi Town. Hier kannst du entweder mit einer Fähre auf die Insel oder mit einem Minivan über das Festland und mit einer kurzen Fährfahrt nach Koh Lanta.

Der Klong Dao Beach auf Koh Lanta in Krabi
Der wunderschöne Klong Dao Beach

Die Insel lässt sich prima mit dem Roller erkunden. Du kannst dir gemütlich die Strände von Koh Lanta anschauen, Koh Lanta Old Town, den Nationalpark und vieles weitere. Viel Verkehr gibt es hier nicht und so kannst du ungestört die Ruhe und Natur genießen, die diese wunderschöne Insel zu bieten hat.

Mu Koh Lanta Nationalpark auf Koh Lanta, Region Krabi

8. Koh Jum

Koh Jum, auch unter dem Namen Koh Pu bekannt, liegt etwas nördlich von Koh Lanta. Es gibt nur wenige Hotels und Resorts auf der sehr naturbelassenen Insel und deswegen wird sie immer beliebter. Besonders populär ist Koh Jum bei Besuchern zum Schnorcheln. Vor der Küste liegen viele Korallen und das Wasser ist sehr fischreich.

Die Insel ist touristisch sehr wenig erschlossen und hat ihrem Charme über die Jahre bewahrt. Hier kannst du dich entspannen, schnorcheln, schwimmen und fantastische Sonnenuntergänge mit Blick auf Koh Phi Phi genießen. Einfach mal etwas abschalten, dafür ist Koh Jum perfekt.

Strand auf der einsamen Insel Koh Jum, Krabi, Thailand

In der Hauptsaison verkehren ein paar Fähren von Koh Lanta nach Koh Jum und ansonsten kannst du die Insel am besten aus Krabi Town erreichen. Hier fährt ein Bus zum Laem Kruat Pier (etwa 100 Baht) und von dort geht es mit einem Boot für ca. 70 Baht weiter nach Koh Jum.

9. Koh Ngai

Koh Ngai wird zwar meistens von Trang aus angefahren, jedoch gibt es auch eine Verbindung nach Koh Lanta. Auch verwaltungstechnisch gehört Koh Ngai noch zur Region Krabi.

Die auch als Koh Hai bezeichnete Insel liegt in der Nähe von Koh Mook und wird oft bei Tagestouren angefahren. Jedoch befinden sich auch ein paar Hotelanlagen auf Koh Ngai und du kannst dort übernachten.

Aussicht auf den Strand von Koh Ngai in der Krabi Region

Die Insel selbst ist ein wahres Paradies. Traumhaft klares Wasser, weißer Sandstrand, eine atemberaubende Kulisse mit den vielen Inseln im Meer sowie dem Festland in der Ferne und somit jeder Menge Postkartenmotive.

Wie du am besten auf die Trauminsel kommst, erfährst du in unserem Artikel über Koh Ngai.

Hast du schon mal Island Hopping in Krabi gemacht? Welches ist deine Lieblingsinsel in Krabi? Lass uns am besten gleich Feedback in den Kommentaren hier!

Fotos: Foto 7 (Bamboo Island) – Maxim Tupikov/shutterstock.com, Foto 11 (Koh Jum) – bang tongkeawsawat/shutterstock.com

Das könnte dir auch gefallen

Tobi

Hi, ich bin Tobi, Freelancer im Bereich Übersetzungen und Texten, aber vor allem leidenschaftlicher Reiseblogger. Am liebsten bin ich in Südostasien unterwegs und arbeite von den verschiedensten Orten online. Wenn du wissen willst, was ich gerade mache oder wo ich bin, dann folge mir am besten auf Twitter, Instagram oder schaue bei Facebook vorbei.

Booking.com