Dieser Artikel ist auch verfügbar auf: Deutsch

Vietnam is different. That would be the first statement which I think is appropriate for Vietnam after staying a few days in the country. Much different than other large countries in Southeast Asia such as Thailand or Malaysia, but the country still has a very special charm.

Arrival and first impressions from Ho Chi Minh City

In our travel report you can find out in detail how our arrival and our first impressions in Vietnam, especially in Ho Chi Minh City, were.


How to get to Ho Chi Minh City

Accommodation in Ho Chi Minh City – our hotel tip

Ho Chi Minh City: Tours and tickets


The flight from Bangkok to Ho Chi Minh City, which is still often called Saigon by the Vietnamese, was only lasting an hour and a couple of minutes.

The immigration went without any problems and with our German passports we simply got a stamp for a 15-days free of charge stay. The airport was very organized and relatively empty, which I didn’t expect. After the first withdrawal at the ATM, which made us millionaires – at least in Vietnamese Dong – we went to one of the many taxi stands.

The offered trips to District 1, where our hotel was located, were offered with a price of 220.000 VDN – quite expensive. But we didn’t feel like searching for a cheaper one and so we just took those private taxis instead of waiting outside for a metered public taxi.

Fortunately, we could also buy a SIM card at these taxi stands. The price for a SIM card was 290.000 VDN (a little bit more than 10 Euro) with a data volume of 1.5 GB, which I think is totally ok for two weeks.

The taxi ride to the hotel

According to Google Maps, our hotel was located only 7 kilometers south of the Ho Chi Minh City airport. We thought this was going to be a short ride. Nobody knew how wrong we could be.

It took us over an hour to get past those 7 kilometers, because the traffic in Ho Chi Minh City is just so chaotic. Maybe this word is a little bit too innocuous for that and at first glance it even looked like there are no traffic rules at all.

The chaotic traffic in Ho Chi Minh City, Saigon, Vietnam

The traffic is definitely the most extreme I’ve ever seen in Southeast Asia! Actually, I’ve never seen so many scooters anywhere before! Even the parking spaces are partly so overcrowded that there is a huge queue with people who are waiting for some parking space. And it’s not uncommon to park in the second or third row. It’s a mystery to me how they will get out there with their parked scooters…

Parking space with countless scooters at the September 23 Park in Ho Chi Minh City

Ho Chi Minh City

Besides that, Ho Chi Minh City is a lively, vibrant, noisy, hot and chaotic city that knows to convince with its charm. You can also find a lot of markets in the city like the Benh Thanh Market or Binh Tay Market, which are absolutely worth a visit.

Blick auf den Benh Thanh Market in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ben Thanh Market
A side street of the Binh Tay Market, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
A side street of the Binh Tay Market

We spent 3 days to discover Saigon’s sights, mostly by walking, trying various Vietnamese dishes and communicating partially with hands and feet.

To our surprise, most Vietnamese people don’t speak English that well, at least outside of the tourist areas. Even in Saigon. But it also works that way.

Statue of Ho Chi Minh and the city hall, Saigon, Vietnam
The statue of Ho Chi Minh and the city hall
Pho Bo, Vietnamese noodle soup with beef
The Vietnamese noodle soup Pho with beef (Bo)
Tobi in front of the Notre Dame cathedral in Ho Chi Minh City
Tobi in front of the Notre Dame cathedral

Saigon Skydeck at the Bitexco Financial Tower

Since we both love skylines, we had to visit the Saigon Skydeck at the Bitexco Financial Tower. The entrance fee is 200.000 VDN and there is no open skydeck, but it’s still worth it. It was one of our highlights in Ho Chi Minh City!

View from the Saigon Skydeck at the city, Ho Chi Minh City

View by night from the Saigon Skydeck, Ho Chi Minh City

First conclusion

Despite the chaos in Ho Chi Minh City and the incredible heat while exploring the city, we had a great start in Vietnam. It is definitely different than Thailand, Indonesia or the Philippines.

A new country, a new culture and a new island is waiting to be discovered and we are really looking forward to that!

Plan your trip to Ho Chi Minh City now

More hotel recommendations for Ho Chi Minh City:


What was your impression when you visited Vietnam for the first time? Can you relate to our opinion? Give us feedback in the comments.

You might also like

Tobi

Hi, I'm Tobi, a passionate travel blogger and freelancer in translations and copy writing. Mostly I travel around Southeast Asia and work remotely from different locations. If you want to know where I am or what I'm doing, just follow me on Twitter, Instagram or Facebook.

This post is also available in: English

Vietnam ist anders. Das wäre die erste Aussage, die ich nach ein paar Tagen Vietnam als treffend bezeichnen würde.

Der Flug von Bangkok nach Ho Chi Minh City, was die Vietnamesen aber immer noch oft nur Saigon nennen, dauerte gerade mal eine Stunde und ein paar Minuten.

Die Immigration geht mit dem deutschen Reisepass auch ohne Probleme und so bekamen wir einen Stempel für 15 Tage in unseren Pass. Der Flughafen war sehr geordnet und relativ leer, was ich definitiv nicht erwartet habe. Nach der ersten Abhebung am Geldautomaten, die uns gleich zu Millionären machte – zumindest in Vietnamesischen Dong – ging es zu einem der vielen Taxistände.

Die angebotenen Fahrten in den District 1, wo unser Hotel lag, waren mit 220.000 VDN ziemlich hoch. Jedoch hatten wir keine Lust lange zu suchen. Außerdem hatten wir uns mal wieder nicht informiert, so dass wir letztendlich eine dieser Privattaxen nahmen, statt weiter draußen ein Taxi mit Meter zu suchen.

Erfreulicherweise konnten wir an so einem Taxistand aber auch gleich eine SIM-Karte kaufen. Der Preis mit 290.000 VDN (also etwas über 10 €) mit 1,5 GB Datenvolumen war auch ganz in Ordnung.

Taxifahrt zum Hotel

Laut Google Maps lag unser Hotel knapp 7 Kilometer vom Flughafen in Ho Chi Minh City entfernt. Eine kurze Fahrt also – dachten wir uns. Wir wussten noch nicht wie falsch wir damit liegen würden. Aus 7 Kilometern Fahrt wurde etwas mehr als 1 Stunde, denn der Verkehr in Ho Chi Minh City ist einfach chaotisch. Das Wort ist wahrscheinlich noch zu harmlos dafür, denn es sieht auf den ersten Blick so aus, als ob es gar keine Regeln gäbe.

Der verrückte Verkehr in Ho Chi Minh City, Saigon, Vietnam

Der Verkehr ist auf jeden Fall der bisher krasseste in Südostasien! So viele Rollerfahrer haben wir noch nirgendwo gesehen! Selbst die Parkplätze für Motorroller sind teilweise so überfüllt, dass sich davor eine riesige Schlange mit Leuten bildet, die auf einen Platz warten. Parken in zweiter und dritter Reihe ist auch keine Seltenheit. Wie die dort alle wieder rauskommen ist mir ein Rätsel…

Parkplatz mit unzähligen Rollern am September 23 Park in Ho Chi Minh City

Ho Chi Minh City

Ansonsten ist Ho Chi Minh City eine wirklich quirlige, lebendige, laute, heiße und chaotische Stadt, die aber mit ihrem Charme zu überzeugen weiß. In der Stadt findest du zum Beispiel sehr viele Märkte wie den Ben Thanh Market oder den Binh Tay Market, die unbedingt einen Besuch wert sind.

Blick auf den Benh Thanh Market in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ben Thanh Market
Straße am Binh Tay Market, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Straße am Binh Tay Market

Wir verbrachten 3 Tage damit Saigon größtenteils zu Fuß zu erkunden, einiges an vietnamesischem Essen auszuprobieren und mussten uns teilweise mit Händen und Füßen verständigen.

Zu unserer Verwunderung sprechen viele Vietnamesen, zumindest außerhalb der Touristenzentren, selbst in Saigon, wenig Englisch. Aber es klappt auch so. 😉

Statue von Ho Chi Minh und das Rathaus der Stadt, Saigon, Vietnam
Statue von Ho Chi Minh und das Rathaus der Stadt
Pho Bo, vietnamesische Nudelsuppe mit Rind
Die vietnamesische Nudelsuppe Pho mit Rindfleisch (Bo)
Tobi vor der Notre Dame Kathedrale in Ho Chi Minh City
Tobi vor der Notre Dame Kathedrale

Saigon Skydeck im Bitexco Financial Tower

Da wir beide absolute Fans von Skylines sind, mussten wir auch das Saigon Skydeck im Bitexco Financial Tower besuchen. Der Eintritt beträgt zwar satte 200.000 VDN und es gibt keine offene Aussichtsplattform, aber trotzdem lohnt es sich. Eines unserer Highlights von Ho Chi Minh City!

Aussicht vom Saigon Skydeck auf die Stadt, Ho Chi Minh City

Aussicht bei Nacht vom Saigon Skydeck, Ho Chi Minh City

Erstes Fazit

Trotz des Chaos in Ho Chi Minh City und der unglaublichen Hitze beim Erkunden der Stadt hatten wir einen super Start in Vietnam. Es ist definitiv etwas anderes als Thailand, Indonesien oder die Philippinen.

Ein neues Land, eine neue Kultur und eine neue Inselwelt wartet darauf entdeckt zu werden und wir freuen uns darauf!

Das könnte dir auch gefallen

Tobi

Hi, ich bin Tobi, Freelancer im Bereich Übersetzungen und Texten, aber vor allem leidenschaftlicher Reiseblogger. Am liebsten bin ich in Südostasien unterwegs und arbeite von den verschiedensten Orten online. Wenn du wissen willst, was ich gerade mache oder wo ich bin, dann folge mir am besten auf Twitter, Instagram oder schaue bei Facebook vorbei.

Booking.com