Dieser Artikel ist auch verfügbar auf: Deutsch

Uluwatu, the often unfairly forgotten southern tip of Bali on the Bukit Peninsula enchants with its rough charm. Rugged cliffs, high waves, sunburned vegetation and long, winding coastal roads create an atmospheric picture whose earthy tones are reminiscent of Greek islands. Bali travelers often forget to include this gem in their travel itineraries, as there are no obvious sights in the standard travel guides except the impressive Pura Uluwatu.

Cliffs at Pura Luhur Uluwatu in Bali
Cliffs at Pura Luhur Uluwatu

The blogger and Instagram scene has already discovered the picturesque potential of this mountainous coastal area. Gradually more and more tourists are mixing with the die-hard surfers who have long praised Uluwatu as one of the best surfing destinations in the world.

Uluwatu Bali – beaches, sights and must-dos

We recommend you to discover Uluwatu now – before the big buses with day trips that already disturb Balinese solitude in Ubud and the tourist Bermuda triangle of Kuta-Legian-Seminyak start to roll in and destroy the relaxed vibe of this culturally rich part of the island.

Still undecided? Here we have put together 10 reasons that’ll make your decision to finally go to Uluwatu even easier.


How to get to Uluwatu

Denpasar airport in Bali can be reached with many international and local airlines. You can get a first overview on Skyscanner.

The best way to get to the Uluwatu region is with a driver or, if you are fearless and confident, with a scooter that you can rent easily at the airport. A ride from the airport should take about 90 minutes. The route will lead you from the airport via Jimbaran/Kuta Selatan to the Bukit Peninsula. Before you reach the coast, you will pass Garuda Wisnu Kencana Park (see point 9).

Uluwatu: Tours and tickets


1. The sunsets are unforgettable

In Uluwatu you’ll experience sunsets that even surpass the famous ones at Kuta Beach. Especially because you have the opportunity to watch them from an impressive steep cliff, which adds to the whole effect. Grab a cold Bintang from one of the small food stands (in Indonesia they’re called Warungs) and allow yourself to be enchanted by the beautiful sky.

Sunset at Balangan Beach in Uluwatu, Bali
Sunset at Balangan Beach

2. The beaches

Take your time, sunblocker and a scooter, hit Google Maps and visit the (mostly) unspoiled beaches of Uluwatu. Bingin Beach is currently the hottest tip among travelers. However, you can only reach it if you are prepared to climb down 180 steep steps – and up again at the end – which in the desert-like climate of Uluwatu might cost you a few liters of sweat. You will be rewarded with beautiful turquoise water and relatively few tourists. Dreamland Beach is more accessible and offers a nice swimming opportunity, but is also a bit busier.

Bingin Beach with views of the northern part of Bali
Bingin Beach with views of the northern part of Bali
Balangan Beach and some cliffs, Bali
Balangan Beach
Dreamland Beach in Uluwatu, Bali
Dreamland Beach

3. Temples

Bali has countless temples – but only 6 of them belong to the main temples that are meant to maintain the balance between human activity and divine devotion on the island. One of these very sacred places in Balinese Hinduism is Pura Luhur Uluwatu. The temple complex high on the cliffs above the sea is not only spiritually and architecturally impressive, its inhabitants – numerous monkeys – also contribute to the charm of the place. These monkeys like to steal cameras, jewellery or water bottles from visitors, so take good care of your belongings.

Temple gate in Pura Luhur Uluwatu, Bali
Temple gate in Pura Luhur Uluwatu
Cliffs at Pura Luhur Uluwatu in Bali
Cliffs at Pura Luhur Uluwatu

4. The Kecak dance

Almost every evening at 6.00 P.M. the Kecak dance takes place in a side wing of the Uluwatu Temple. It’s actually a trance ritual based on the Ramayana myth, one of the oldest Hindu texts. You can expect a lot of traditionally dressed men dancing and singing rhythmically – a magical experience at sunset that you should’t miss.

The Pura Luhur Uluwatu from above during the Kecak ceremony (drone shot)
The Pura Luhur Uluwatu from above during the Kecak ceremony

5. Little traffic

You don’t fancy the crowded streets in Kuta and Seminyak anymore? Off to Uluwatu! You’ll be greeted by winding coastal roads that you’ll have completely to yourself or share them with only a few others. That’s why Balinese as well as tourists feel encouraged to drive a little faster. Just be careful and always wear a helmet that should be included with your scooter rental.

6. Grilled fish on the beach

Do you know the crowded fish restaurants in Jimbaran, full of day trippers arriving by bus during sunset time? That’s not Uluwatu. Here you can eat inexpensive grilled fish (Ikan Bakar) in a relaxed atmosphere on the beach. The fish is super delicious – especially in combination with a colorful sunset and an ice-cold Bintang. Bingin Beach would be a great spot for that! Don’t forget to bring a charged mobile phone or a flashlight so that you can find your way back up the steep stairs; there is no proper lighting.

7. It’s quiet and peaceful

In Uluwatu, you don’t have to share the beach with a million other sun-seekers – you’ll probably encounter some touts trying to sell you a sarong, but apart from that, the beaches are still unspoiled and chill. This solitude also means that you won’t find proper nightlife or fancy avocado toasts.

Vendors at Dreamland Beach in Uluwatu, Bali
Beach vendors of Sate Ayam, Bakso, ice cream and Co. – in Indonesia this is also part of even calmer beaches

8. Surfing

Uluwatu is a paradise for surfers. There are waves for all skill levels; from beginners to absolute professionals – everyone can catch some waves here. Padang-Padang hosts the Rip Curl surfing competition every year – a truly breathtaking spectacle for visitors and an opportunity for professionals to compete with the best surfers in the world.

Padang Padang Beach in Uluwatu, Bali
Padang Padang Beach

9. Garuda Wisnu Kencana

This massive sculpture, which you can already see for miles from the southern beaches (and even from Bali airport), shows the Hindu god Vishnu (in Indonesian Wisnu) with his beast Garuda. The statue itself is 121 meters high. The completion took 28 years and amounted to 100 million USD. The acting president of Indonesia, Joko Widodo, inaugurated the sculpture, which was transported from West Java to Bali in all its individual parts, in 2018. Definitely a recommendation if you need a bit of culture after all the beaches and Bintangs!

The giant statue Garuda Wisnu Kencana and surroundings, Bali

10. Beach clubs and bars

Uluwatu has the best beach clubs in Bali. Period. You have to shell out a bit more than for a meal at a Warung, but a day on the beach with nice cocktails, live music, a swimming pool and good food might be a nice change of scenery from time to time. A few favorites are Karma Kandara Club, El Kabron, Ulu Cliffhouse or the fancy OMNIA Dayclub. Justifiably popular is also Sundays Beach Club with white sand, where you can rent snorkeling equipment and snorkel directly from the beach.

Bars right on Bingin Beach, Uluwatu (Bali)
Bars at Bingin Beach
View of Bingin Beach in Uluwatu, Bali
View of Bingin Beach

Uluwatu is not yet on the radar of package tourists, but it‘s becoming increasingly popular. Dare to explore by yourself – many beaches are not yet in the travel guides and are therefore still (relatively) lonely and untouched. Accordingly, you won’t find lifeguards or other safety precautions. With the unpredictable currents and quite high waves, only experienced surfers should venture further out. Otherwise just enjoy the wonderfully refreshing turquoise water, the breathtaking views and the empty streets – and write us a comment if you have another insider tip.


About the author

Guest author
Lisa

If she’s not doing yoga or racing around Indonesia on a motorcycle, Lisa will be found close to a turquoise beach, preferably a glass of red wine in her hand and sand between her toes. Having lived in Southeast Asia for more than 4 years, she’s fallen deeply for this part of the world – if only there was more ‘real’ Pizza around! You can follow her travels and hunt for Pizza on Instagram: @lisa_asia

Have you been to Uluwatu during your Bali trip? Did you like the beaches or did you just visit the temple? Tell us about your experiences in the comments.

Photos: photo 8 (Kecak Arena drone): Tony Calandruccio/shutterstock.com – photo 10 (Padang Padang Beach): Marius Dobilas/shutterstock.com – photo 11 (Garuda Wisnu Kencana): Aerovision.io/shutterstock.com

This post is also available in: English

Uluwatu, die oft zu Unrecht vergessene Südspitze Balis auf der Bukit-Halbinsel, bezaubert mit rauem Charme. Schroffe Klippen, hohe Wellen, sonnenverbrannte Vegetation und lange, gewundene Küstenstraßen ergeben ein stimmungsvolles Bild, das in seinen Erdtönen an griechische Inseln erinnert. Bali-Reisende vergessen oft, dieses Kleinod im Süden „mitzunehmen“, da außer dem eindrucksvollen Pura Uluwatu keine offensichtlichen Sehenswürdigkeiten in den klassischen Reiseführern stehen.

Klippen am Pura Luhur Uluwatu in Bali
Klippen am Pura Luhur Uluwatu

Die Blogger- und Instagram-Szene hat das pittoreske Potenzial des bergigen Küstengebiets bereits entdeckt und es finden sich langsam, aber sicher immer mehr Touristen ein, die den eingefleischten Surfern, die schon lange Uluwatu als eine der besten Surfdestinationen der Welt loben, Konkurrenz machen.

Uluwatu Bali – Strände, Sehenswürdigkeiten und Must-Dos

Wir empfehlen dir, Uluwatu jetzt noch zu entdecken – bevor die großen Busse mit Tagestouren, die bereits in Ubud und dem touristischen Bermudadreieck Kuta-Legian-Seminyak balinesische Idylle stören, anrollen und den entspannten, von lokaler Kultur geprägten Vibe zerstören.

Noch unentschlossen? Hier haben wir dir 10 Gründe zusammengestellt, die dir die Entscheidung, nach Uluwatu zu fahren, noch leichter machen werden.


Anreise nach Uluwatu

Den Flughafen Denpasar auf Bali erreichst du mit vielen internationalen und lokalen Fluggesellschaften. Einen ersten Überblick kannst du dir auf Skyscanner oder Momondo verschaffen.

In die Region Uluwatu kommst du am Besten mit einem Fahrer, oder, wenn du furchtlos und selbstbewusst bist, mit einem Roller, den du dir sogar easy am Flughafen mieten kannst. Eine Fahrt vom Flughafen aus sollte ca. 90 Minuten dauern. Dabei geht es vom Flughafen über Jimbaran/Kuta Selatan auf die Bukit Halbinsel. Bevor es an die Küste geht, kommst du am Garuda Wisnu Kencana Park vorbei (siehe Punkt 9).

Uluwatu: Touren und Tickets


1. Die Sonnenuntergänge sind zum Dahinschmelzen

In Uluwatu gibt es Sonnenuntergänge, die selbst das berühmte Farbenspiel am abendlichen Kuta Beach bei Weitem überholen. Vor allem, weil du die Möglichkeit hast, sie dir von einer eindrucksvollen Steilklippe aus anzusehen, was den ganzen Effekt nochmal ordentlich verstärkt. Nimm dir ein kaltes Bintang von einem der kleinen Essensstände und lasse dich vom wunderschönen Himmel bezaubern.

Sonnenuntergang am Balangan Beach in Uluwatu, Bali
Sonnenuntergang am Balangan Beach

2. Die Strände

Nimm dir die Zeit, einen Sonnenschutz und einen Roller, schmeiße Google Maps an und besuche die (größtenteils) touristisch unverdorbenen Strände Uluwatus. Der Bingin Beach ist im Moment der heiße Tipp unter den Travellern. Diesen erreichst du allerdings nur, wenn du bereit bist, 180 steile Stufen runter – und am Ende wieder rauf – zu klettern, was in dem wüstenartigen Klima von Uluwatu auch gerne mal ein paar Literchen Schweiß kosten kann. Belohnt wirst du mit herrlich türkisfarbenem Wasser und verhältnismäßig wenig Touristen. Der Dreamland Beach ist etwas leichter zu erreichen und bietet eine schöne Schwimmmöglichkeit, ist aber auch etwas belebter.

Bingin Beach mit Aussicht auf den nördlichen Teil Balis
Bingin Beach mit Aussicht auf den nördlichen Teil Balis
Balangan Beach und Klippen, Bali
Balangan Beach
Dreamland Beach in Uluwatu, Bali
Dreamland Beach

3. Tempel

Bali hat unzählige Tempelanlagen – doch nur 6 davon gehören zu den Haupttempeln, die das Gleichgewicht zwischen menschlichem Treiben und göttlicher Zuwendung auf der Insel sicherstellen. Einer dieser sehr heiligen Orte im balinesischen Hinduismus ist Pura Luhur Uluwatu. Die komplexe Tempelanlage hoch auf den Klippen über dem Meer ist nicht nur spirituell und architektonisch beeindruckend, auch ihre Bewohner – unzählige Affen – gehören zum Charme des Ortes. Diese Affen stehlen gerne Kameras, Schmuck oder Wasserflaschen von Besuchern: Passe also sehr gut auf deine Sachen auf.

Tempeltor im Pura Luhur Uluwatu, Bali
Tempeltor im Pura Luhur Uluwatu
Klippen am Pura Luhur Uluwatu in Bali
Klippen am Pura Luhur Uluwatu

4. Der Kecak-Tanz

Fast jeden Abend um 18.00 Uhr findet in einem Seitenflügel des Uluwatu Tempels der Kecak-Tanz statt. Eigentlich handelt es sich um ein Trance-Ritual, das auf dem Ramayana-Mythos basiert, einem der ältesten Texte des Hinduismus. Du kannst eine Menge nur bis zur Hüfte bekleidete Männer erwarten, die rhythmisch tanzen und singen – eine magische Erfahrung zum Sonnenuntergang, die du auf keinen Fall verpassen solltest.

Der Pura Luhur Uluwatu von oben während der Kecak Zeremonie (Drohnenaufnahme)
Der Pura Uluwatu von oben während der Kecak Zeremonie

5. Wenig Verkehr

Keinen Bock mehr auf die überfüllten Straßen in Kuta und Seminyak? Ab nach Uluwatu! Die gewundenen Küstenstraßen hast du oft für dich alleine oder teilst sie mit nur wenigen anderen Verkehrsteilnehmern. Gerade deswegen fühlen sich Balinesen wie Touristen inspiriert, etwas schneller zu fahren. Also sei trotzdem vorsichtig und trage einen Helm, der bei deiner Rollermiete natürlich inklusive sein sollte.

6. Gegrillter Fisch am Strand

Kennst du die überfüllten Fischrestaurants in Jimbaran, wo Touristen busweise angekarrt werden? Das ist Uluwatu NICHT. Hier kannst du in entspannter Atmosphäre günstigen gegrillten Fisch (Ikan Bakar) am Strand essen, der unfassbar lecker schmeckt – besonders in Verbindung mit einem farbenprächtigen Sonnenuntergang und einem eiskalten Bintang. Am Bingin Beach lässt sich das sehr gut realisieren. Bringe aber ein aufgeladenes Handy oder eine Taschenlampe mit, damit du den Weg über die steilen Treppen wieder nach oben findest; es gibt keine Beleuchtung.

7. Du hast deine Ruhe

Während sich an den Stränden der populären Orte im Süden Handtuch an Handtuch aneinanderreihen, hast du hier absoluten Frieden und Erholung (von dem einen oder anderen Verkäufer am Strand abgesehen). Dafür gibt es halt auch kein wirkliches Nachtleben und Avocado-Toast musst du auch länger suchen.

Verkäufer am Dreamland Beach in Uluwatu, Bali
Strandverkäufer von Sate Ayam, Bakso, Eis und Co. – dies gehört in Indonesien auch an ruhigeren Stränden einfach dazu

8. Surfen

Uluwatu ist ein Paradies für Surfer. Es gibt Wellen für alle Könnens-Stufen; von Anfänger bis hin zu absoluten Profis – hier kommen alle auf ihre Kosten. In Padang-Padang wird jedes Jahr der Surfwettbewerb der Surfermarke Rip Curl ausgetragen – auch für Zuschauer ein echt atemberaubendes Spektakel und für Profis die Gelegenheit, sich mit den besten Surfern der Welt zu messen.

Padang Padang Beach in Uluwatu, Bali
Padang Padang Beach

9. Garuda Wisnu Kencana

Diese Skulptur, die du schon von den südlichen Stränden (und sogar vom Bali Airport) kilometerweit sehen kannst, zeigt den hinduistischen Gott Vishnu (Indonesisch Wisnu) mit seinem Reittier Garuda. Die Statue selbst ist 121 Meter hoch. Die Fertigstellung dauerte geschlagene 28 Jahre und kostete 100 Millionen USD. Der amtierende Präsident Indonesiens, Joko Widodo, weihte die Skulptur, die aus West-Java in all ihren Einzelteilen nach Bali transportiert wurde, 2018 ein. Definitiv eine Empfehlung, wenn du nach all den Beaches und Bintangs ein bisschen Kultur brauchst!

Die riesige Statue Garuda Wisnu Kencana und Umgebung, Bali

10. Beachclubs und Bars

Uluwatu hat die besten Beachclubs in Bali. Punkt. Du musst schon etwas tiefer in die Tasche greifen als bei einem klassischen Warung, aber ein Tag am Strand mit schönen Cocktails, Livemusik, einem Pool und gutem Essen kann hin und wieder eine nette Abwechslung sein. Ein paar Favoriten sind der Karma Kandara Club, El Kabron, Ulu Cliffhouse oder der schicke OMNIA Dayclub. Sehr populär ist auch der Sundays Beach Club mit weißem Sand, wo du auch Schnorchelausrüstung ausleihen und direkt vom Strand aus losschnorcheln kannst.

Bars direkt am Bingin Beach, Uluwatu (Bali)
Bars am Bingin Beach
Aussicht auf den Bingin Beach in Uluwatu, Bali
Aussicht auf den Bingin Beach

Uluwatu ist noch nicht ganz auf dem Radar der Pauschaltouristen angekommen, gewinnt aber stetig und mehr an Popularität. Sei mutig – viele Strände stehen noch nicht in den Reiseführern und sind daher noch (relativ) einsam und unberührt. Daher gibt es dort auch keine Rettungsschwimmer oder sonstige Sicherheitsvorkehrungen. Bei den unvorhersehbaren Strömungen und recht hohen Wellen sollten sich nur erfahrene Surfer weiter raus wagen. Ansonsten genieße einfach das wunderbar erfrischende türkisfarbene Wasser, die atemberaubenden Ausblicke und die leeren Straßen – und schreib doch in die Kommentare, wenn du noch einen weiteren Geheimtipp für uns hast.


Über die Autorin

Gastautorin Lisa
Lisa

Warst du schon während deiner Bali-Reise in Uluwatu? Haben dir die Strände gefallen oder hast du nur den Tempel besucht? Erzähle uns von deinen Erlebnissen in den Kommentaren.

Fotos: Foto 8 (Kecak Arena Drohne): Tony Calandruccio/shutterstock.com – Foto 10 (Padang Padang Beach): Marius Dobilas/shutterstock.com – Foto 11 (Garuda Wisnu Kencana): Aerovision.io/shutterstock.com

Das könnte dir auch gefallen

Gast

Dies ist ein Gastartikel. Falls du Fragen oder Anregungen zum Thema hast, schreibe sie einfach in die Kommentare oder kontaktiere den Gastautor direkt auf seinem Blog.

Booking.com