Dieser Artikel ist auch verfügbar auf: Deutsch

Almost everybody who travels in Southeast Asia knows the famous 3 Gili Islands. Last year I wrote about Gili Nanggu for the first time – an island in the southwest of Lombok in an area which is less known and still off the beaten path.

From Sekotong, the southwestern peninsula of Lombok, there are even 12 more tiny or even large Gili islands to discover besides Gili Nanggu.

Island hopping in Sekotong

During my current Lombok stay I of course visited Sekotong again for a few days and made an island hopping tour to some other Gilis. So I wanna introduce these islands to you in this article. Also, on another day I visited Gili Nanggu again to see what has changed. And I had to notice: almost nothing!

Our island hopping boat


How to get to Lombok

Accommodation in Lombok – our hotel tips

Garden and the Qozy Rooms with a garden view at Qunci Villas hotel in Lombok

Sekotong: Tours and tickets


Gili Rengit (Gili Ringgit) and Gili Layar

The first stations of my island hopping tour were the 2 islands Gili Rengit and Gili Layar, which are located a bit more far away from my starting point in Sekotong Barat. They are popular snorkeling and diving spots. From there the drive takes about half an hour.

On the island hopping boat in Sekotong

We firstly passed the two only luxury resorts of Sekotong, the Cocotinos and the Sundancer. Especially the Sundancer is quite huge and you can see the remarkable blue roofs on the hill already from the far.

On the right hand side, a little bit more far away, you can see the small island Gili Poh. I already wrote about it in the Gili Nanggu article. Unfortunately, it’s still on my bucket list though. Next time… 😉

After that we passed the Turtle Island – locals like to call it Gili Genting/Gili Penyu. The name comes from the shape of the island that looks like a turtle from certain angles. It has a tiny beach that is not wider than 10 meters and that’s it. Just a few meters away there is already the mainland with the Elak Elak Beach, which has amazingly turquoise water.

Turtle Island (Gili Genting/Gili Penyu) in Sekotong, Lombok
Turtle Island (Gili Genting/Gili Penyu)

Past some lonely beaches on the mainland of Sekotong and the quite big island Gili Gede (probably the only Gili island where there are more villages and even motorbikes going around), we finally reached Gili Rengit.

Lonely dream beach in Sekotong
We passed dozens of lonely beaches

Gili Rengit itself is actually quite unspectacular and also doesn’t have the most beautiful beach. The slightly rundown jetty and the trash do the rest. Although the island was disappointing, I really liked the very beautiful underwater world with many little fish, starfish and colorful and living corals.

Only a few minutes away lies Gili Layar. Off the island there were some great snorkeling spots that I really enjoyed. With the Layar Beach Bungalows, the island even has accommodations. Just perfect for a quiet and secluded honeymoon, holidays or just for relaxing for a few days.

Also the beaches and the water at Gili Layar were clearly more beautiful – at some places even paradise-like. Especially the beach section at the bungalows has finest white sand and amazingly turquoise water. Just the way I love it.

Lonely dream beach on Gili Layar in Sekotong, Lombok
Dream beach on Gili Layar
Beach Bungalows directly at the beach of Gili Layar
On Gili Layar you can also stay in the beach bungalows
Colorful corals off Gili Layar and Gili Rengit
Colorful corals off Gili Layar and Gili Rengit

Gili Sudak

The next station of this island hopping tour was Gili Sudak, which is located between Gili Nanggu and the mainland at the very end of Sekotong’s east. I didn’t try snorkeling here however, but I’m pretty sure there is one or another nice snorkeling spot around here, too.

Gili Sudak is a popular stop for having lunches during island hopping tours. The island currently has to offer 2 restaurants/Warungs that are situated directly at the beach. The beach section here is very nice and you can have your lunch in the shadow of the trees with a great view at the mainland of Sekotong. I would always recommend you a fresh grilled fish or seafood. The water is clear and the sand is fine, so you can have a nice swim to cool down a bit.

View at the mainland of Sekotong from Gili Sudak
View at the mainland of Sekotong from Gili Sudak

Gili Nanggu

As mentioned before, I have visited Gili Nanggu again the other day. In my opinion Gili Nanggu is the most beautiful island of the southwest Gilis – at least of those that I have seen until now. The beach section on the front of the island is still a true little paradise.

The island still looks like one year ago. Almost nothing has changed. Well, there were some more tourists this time. This is probably because it’s high season anyway and more and more people are starting to visit the other Gili islands around Lombok. But this is still NO comparison to Gili T and Co. AT ALL.

At the beach of Gili Nanggu in Sekotong, Lombok
Gili Nanggu

Secluded dream beach on Gili Nanggu

Bungalows on Gili Nanggu, Sekotong

On the contrary to my last visit, this time I also went snorkeling here. There are not so many colorful corals to see like near Gili Rengit and Gili Layar, but there were many more beautiful fish! The water is very calm, clear and is simply perfect for snorkeling.

Colorful fish and corals off Gili Nanggu, Sekotong
Off Gili Nanggu there are many colorful fish to see

Colorful fish off Gili Nanggu

After the trip to Gili Nanggu, we went again to Gili Sudak to have lunch and this time we visited the following place afterwards…

Gili Kedis/Gili Bedis

From Gili Sudak you can see a super tiny island on the right side. The name is Gili Kedis (sometimes also referred to as Gili Bedis). It is so small that you can go around in about 2-3 minutes. Of course this island is uninhabited and there’s nothing on it – just a little bit of the Robinson Crusoe feeling. Well, at least when there are no other tourists on the island. As long as it’s not low tide, it’s just amazing here.

Die tiny island Gili Kedis in Sekotong, Lombok
Gili Kedis

Conclusion

If you liked the Gili Islands Trawangan, Meno and Air, but they were too touristy for you, you should definitely come to Sekotong and do an island hopping tour like this! I even recommend you to stay in Sekotong for a couple of days and if it’s in your budget, do even more tours. At least you should visit Gili Nanggu.

As aforementioned, Sekotong has totally 13 Gili islands and I didn’t even described all of them yet. For example there is also Gili Asahan, Gili Gede, Gili Tangkong and Gili Poh.

How to get there, prices and accommodations

You can book this tour from different places in Sekotong – mostly you can find them in or near the village of Tawun in Sekotong Barat. I booked my tour both times with a nice boatman from the neighbor village Batu Leong. His name is Pak Dekok – a small and friendly guy that does a great job. He even had a fresh coconut to welcome me.

The prices are of course depending on the company or boat driver, but basically start from 350,000 IDR for Gili Nanggu, Gili Sudak and Gili Kedis. Gili Layar and Gili Rengit are a different tour and more far away, so the prices to get there start from about 600,000 IDR. As the 3rd island of this tour, they mostly offer Gili Nanggu or Gili Sudak. Snorkeling masks and fins are not always included in the price, so maybe you have to bring your own or rent them for about 50,000 IDR.

6 to 8 persons fit in the boats. If you want to save some money, you should ask your neighbors in your accommodation or other tourists you meet to share a boat with you maybe. 😉

By the way: if you like diving, you should definitely come to Sekotong and do a dive there.

If you wanna stay in Sekotong for a few more days and your budget is not too high, I definitely recommend you to stay at Krisna Bungalows and Restaurant. From there you can perfectly start your island hopping tour to the Gilis since they even have their own boat (which is actually a slightly more expensive speed boat). The Cocotinos Resort is a little bit more lush and even has its own jetty. They also offer tours from there.

Bintang beer with a view at Gili Nanggu, Gili Tangkong and Gili Sudak (Krisna Bungalows and Restaurant)
At the end of the day you shouldn’t miss a cool Bintang with a great view at Gili Nanggu, Gili Tangkong and Gili Sudak 😉

Have you ever been to the southwest of Lombok in Sekotong and visited one of those Gili islands? Or even did a tour with more islands as well? If so, how did you like it?

You might also like

Marcel

Hi, I'm Marcel! Blogger, author, web & graphic designer and digital nomad. I love traveling in Southeast Asia and exploring wonderful beaches and trying delicious food. My home base is Koh Phangan, Thailand. Follow me on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram or Steemit.

This post is also available in: English

Fast jeder Südostasien-Reisende kennt die 3 berühmten Gili-Inseln. Im vergangenen Jahr habe ich erstmalig über Gili Nanggu berichtet – eine Insel im Südwesten von Lombok, die viel weniger bekannt und touristisch erschlossen ist.

Vor Sekotong, der südwestlichen Halbinsel Lomboks, liegen neben Gili Nanggu insgesamt sogar 12 weitere winzige bis sogar sehr große Gili-Inseln.

Island Hopping in Sekotong

Während meines jetzigen Lombok-Aufenthaltes habe ich natürlich auch wieder Sekotong für ein paar Tage besucht und eine Island Hopping Tour zu ein paar weiteren Gilis gemacht. Diese möchte ich dir im heutigen Artikel vorstellen. Außerdem ging es für mich an einem anderen Tag wieder zurück nach Gili Nanggu, um zu sehen, was sich so in einem Jahr alles verändert hat. Und ich musste feststellen: kaum etwas!

Unser Island Hopping Boot


Anreise nach Lombok

Übernachtung in Lombok – unsere Hoteltipps

Gartenanlage und die Qozy Rooms mit Gartenblick im Qunci Villas Hotel auf Lombok

Sekotong: Touren und Tickets


Gili Rengit (Gili Ringgit) und Gili Layar

Die ersten Stationen meiner Island Hopping Tour waren die 2 Inseln Gili Rengit und Gili Layar, welche etwas weiter weg vom Startpunkt in Sekotong Barat liegen. Sie sind sehr beliebte Schnorchel- und Tauchspots. Von dort aus dauert die Fahrt knapp eine halbe Stunde.

Auf dem Boot zum Island Hopping in Sekotong

Vorbei geht es zunächst an den einzigen beiden Luxus-Resorts Sekotongs, dem Cocotinos und dem Sundancer. Besonders das Sundancer ist riesig und du kannst die markanten blauen Häuserdächer auf dem Hügel schon von weitem erkennen.

Auf der rechten Seite, etwas weiter in der Ferne, ist eine kleine Insel zu sehen: Gili Poh. Diese habe ich bereits im Gili Nanggu Artikel erwähnt. Leider steht sie noch immer auf meiner Bucket Liste. Nächstes Mal…

Anschließend ging es vorbei an der Turtle Island – unter Locals besser bekannt als Gili Genting/Gili Penyu. Der Name kommt daher, dass die Insel von bestimmten Winkeln aus die Form einer Schildkröte hat. Sie hat einen winzigen Strand, der vielleicht 10 Meter breit ist und sonst nix. Wenige Meter davor liegt schon das Festland mit dem Elak Elak Beach, welcher traumhaft türkises Wasser bietet.

Turtle Island (Gili Genting/Gili Penyu) in Sekotong, Lombok
Turtle Island (Gili Genting/Gili Penyu)

Vorbei an vielen einsamen Stränden des Festlandes von Sekotong und der vergleichsweise großen Insel Gili Gede (wohl die einzige Gili-Insel, wo es mehrere Dörfer gibt und auch Motorroller fahren) kamen wir schließlich vor Gili Rengit an.

Einsamer Traumstrand in Sekotong
Vorbei an Dutzenden einsamen Ständen

Gili Rengit selbst ist recht unspektakulär und hatte auch nicht unbedingt den schönsten Strand. Das leicht verwahrloste Bootspier und der Müll tun dann seinen Rest dazu. Auch wenn die Insel selbst etwas enttäuschte, konnte ihre sehr schöne Unterwasserwelt mit vielen kleinen Fischen, Seesternen und bunten, lebenden Korallen eindeutig punkten. Das hat mir sehr gefallen.

Nur wenige Minuten entfernt liegt Gili Layar. Auch hier waren vor der Insel ein paar sehr schöne Schnorchelspots, die ich sehr genossen habe. Mit den Layar Beach Bungalows hat die Insel sogar Unterkünfte zu bieten. Für einen einsamen und ruhigen Honeymoon-Urlaub oder einfach ein paar Tage Ruhe und Entspannung genau das Richtige!

Die Strände und das Wasser auf Gili Layar waren auch wesentlich schöner – stellenweise sogar paradiesisch. Besonders der Strandabschnitt vor den Bungalows bietet feinsten weißen Sand und ein richtig schönes türkises Wasser ganz nach meinem Geschmack.

Einsamer Traumstrand auf Gili Layar in Sekotong, Lombok
Traumstrand auf Gili Layar
Beach Bungalows direkt am Strand von Gili Layar
Auf Gili Layar kannst du auch in den Beach Bungalows übernachten
Bunte Korallen vor Gili Layar und Gili Rengit
Bunte Korallen vor Gili Layar und Gili Rengit

Gili Sudak

Die nächste Station dieser Island Hopping Tour war Gili Sudak, welche im äußersten Osten Sekotongs zwischen dem Festland und Gili Nanggu liegt. Schnorcheln war ich nicht, aber sicherlich gibt es auch hier den einen oder anderen schönen Schnorchelspot.

Gili Sudak ist ein beliebtes Ziel zum Mittagessen bei so einer Island Hopping Tour. Denn die Insel bietet 2 Restaurants/Warungs, welche direkt am Strand liegen. Der Strandabschnitt ist super schön und du hast beim Essen im Schatten der Bäume einen traumhaften Ausblick auf das Festland von Sekotong. Sehr zu empfehlen ist natürlich immer ein frischer, gegrillter Fisch oder Seafood. Das Wasser ist klar und der Sand ist fein, so dass du zur Abkühlung auch wunderbar ein Bad nehmen kannst.

Ausblick auf das Festland von Sekotong von Gili Sudak aus
Ausblick auf das Festland von Sekotong von Gili Sudak aus

Gili Nanggu

An einem anderen Tag habe ich, wie vorhin erwähnt, wieder einen Ausflug nach Gili Nanggu gemacht. Gili Nanggu ist meiner Meinung nach die schönste Insel der südwestlichen Gilis – von denen, die ich bis jetzt jedenfalls gesehen habe. Der vordere Strandabschnitt ist einfach nach wie vor ein kleines Paradies.

Die Insel sieht noch genauso aus wie vor einem Jahr. Es hat sich wirklich kaum etwas verändert. Höchstens ein paar mehr Touristen waren diesmal vor Ort. Klar, es ist High Season und so langsam sprechen sich die anderen Gili-Inseln Lomboks auch rum. Aber natürlich noch LÄNGST kein Vergleich zu Gili T und Co.

Am Strand von Gili Nanggu in Sekotong, Lombok
Gili Nanggu

Einsamer Traumstrand auf Gili Nanggu

Bungalows auf Gili Nanggu, Sekotong

Im Gegensatz zum ersten Mal, war ich vor Gili Nanggu jetzt auch schnorcheln. Es gibt zwar nicht so viele bunte Korallen zu sehen wie vor Gili Rengit und Gili Layar, dafür aber umso mehr schöne Fische! Das Wasser ist sehr ruhig, klar und eignet sich wunderbar zum Schnorcheln.

Bunte Fische und Korallen vor Gili Nanggu, Sekotong
Vor Gili Nanggu gibt es viele bunte Fische zu sehen

Bunte Fische vor Gili Nanggu

Nach Gili Nanggu ging es noch einmal zum Essen nach Gili Sudak und anschließend auf…

Gili Kedis/Gili Bedis

Von Gili Sudak aus siehst du weiter rechts auch eine winzige Insel, die Gili Kedis heißt (manchmal auch als Gili Bedis bezeichnet). Sie ist so klein, dass du sie in etwa 2-3 Minuten umrunden kannst. Sie ist natürlich unbewohnt und hat außerdem nichts zu bieten, außer etwas Robinson Crusoe Feeling – wenn keine anderen Touristen zu dem Zeitpunkt auf der Insel sind. Ein absoluter Traum, solange nicht unbedingt Ebbe herrscht.

Die winzige Insel Gili Kedis in Sekotong, Lombok
Gili Kedis

Fazit

Wenn dir die Gili-Inseln Trawangan, Meno und Air schon gefallen haben, jedoch etwas zu touristisch waren, dann solltest du unbedingt nach Sekotong kommen und dort eine Island Hopping Tour machen! Es lohnt sich sogar einige Tage in Sekotong zu verbringen und wenn es in deinem Budget liegt, auch mehrere Touren zu machen. Zumindest jedoch sollest du nach Gili Nanggu.

Wie erwähnt, hat Sekotong insgesamt 13 Gili-Inseln und das waren hier noch längst nicht alle. Weitere Möglichkeiten wären u.a. Gili Asahan, Gili Gede, Gili Tangkong und Gili Poh.

Anfahrt, Preise und Unterkünfte

Angeboten werden die Touren an mehreren Orten in Sekotong – meistens jedoch in der Nähe des Hafenortes Tawun in Sekotong Barat. Meine Touren habe ich beide Male mit einem Bootsmann aus dem Nachbarort Batu Leong gemacht. Sein Name ist Pak Dekok – ein kleiner sympathischer Kerl, der seinen Job richtig gut macht. Sogar eine frische Kokosnuss hatte er zur Begrüßung für mich parat.

Die Preise sind natürlich extrem anhängig vom Anbieter oder Bootsmann, fangen jedoch bei etwa 350.000 IDR für Gili Nanggu, Gili Sudak und Gili Kedis an. Etwas weiter weg liegen Gili Layar und Gili Rengit, so dass die Preise dorthin bei etwa 600.000 IDR beginnen. Als 3. Insel bei dieser Tour werden dann meistens Gili Nanggu oder Gili Sudak angesteuert. Schnorchelmaske und Flossen sind nicht immer dabei, so dass du diese evtl. noch extra ausleihen musst (oder eben selbst mitbringen). Das fängt bei etwa 50.000 IDR an.

In die Boote passen normalerweise 6-8 Personen. Frage ruhig mal deine Nachbarn in der Unterkunft oder andere Touristen, die du triffst, ob ihr euch das Boot nicht teilen wollt. So kannst du noch etwas Geld sparen.

Übrigens: Wenn du gerne tauchst, solltest du auch unbedingt mal nach Sekotong kommen und dort einen Tauchgang machen.

Falls du mehrere Tage bleiben willst und du auf niedrigem bis mittlerem Budget unterwegs bist, empfehle ich dir das Krisna Bungalows and Restaurant. Von dort aus kannst du übrigens auch Island Hopping Touren zu den Gilis machen, da das Krisna ein eigenes Boot besitzt (Speedboat, jedoch ein wenig teurer). Das Cocotinos Resort, welches eine Nummer luxuriöser ist, hat sogar ihr eigenes Bootspier und bietet von dort aus auch Touren an.

Bintang Bier mit Blick auf Gili Nanggu, Gili Tangkong und Gili Sudak (Krisna Bungalows and Restaurant)
Zum Abschluss des Tages darf natürlich ein kühles Bintang beim Ausblick auf Gili Nanggu, Gili Tangkong und Gili Sudak nicht fehlen

Warst du schon mal im Südwesten Lomboks in Sekotong und hast eine der Gili-Inseln besucht? Oder sogar mehrere auf einer Inselhopping Tour? Wenn ja, wie hat es dir gefallen?

Das könnte dir auch gefallen

Marcel

Moin, ich bin Marcel! Blogger, Autor, Web- & Grafikdesigner und digitaler Nomade. Ich reise am liebsten durch Südostasien und entdecke dort traumhafte Strände und leckeres Essen. Meine Homebase ist Koh Phangan, Thailand. Folge mir auf Facebook, Twitter oder Instagram.