Dieser Artikel ist auch verfügbar auf: Deutsch

Arrival in Manila. The capital of the Philippines is very hot and humid also at night, like a typical Southeast Asian city. But that can’t impress us anymore. After a 4-hour flight from Kuala Lumpur and a trouble-free entry to the Philippines (with verification of the return ticket), we were looking for a taxi to get us to our hotel.

We have to admit that we never prepared ourselves for the Philippines and read only very little about the country. In other words, we haven’t done our homework because we’re always too lazy for planning. Our motto is like: Just go and see where it takes you.

The taxi ride

Although we took a metered taxi from the airport to our hotel, the ride was way more expensive than we expected (about 500 pesos = just something under € 10). Alright, the driver had to locate the hotel and went up and down the street (partly backwards, because it was a one-way street) to find it, but we expected the ride significantly more favorable.

The first big positive surprise was that the Filipinos speak pretty good English. I mean everybody, even the taxi driver and old women. Sometimes they even talk English among themselves and use “thank you” instead of “salamat”. In general, the Filipinos are really nice, friendly and helpful. This makes traveling over here much easier and comfortable.

But it’s not that easy and cheap to go around with a taxi in Manila. First, it’s really hard to get a free taxi. Second, many of the drivers won’t turn on the meter (at least with tourists) and name a fixed price for some weird reasons (mostly it’s because of the “traffic”).

Manila

Jeepneys in the city of Manila, Philippines
Jeepneys in the city of Manila

The next morning. As in almost every city we visit for the first time, we started to explore it by walking. Like here in Manila.

The city is really different – not like Bangkok, Jakarta or Kuala Lumpur. As we were looking for a breakfast or rather a lunch, we noticed that there aren’t too many food stalls with street food like in the other Southeast Asian cities.

So we walked quite a while around the district of Malate until we found a small shop were we tried the “Caldereta” and “Pork Adobo”.

Dear Filipinos, please just skip this paragraph. Unfortunately, we had to realize that the Philippine cuisine isn’t quite as good as we hoped for. Even after 10 days in the country we didn’t change our mind about this. Until then, we didn’t have a single dish that knocked our socks off. If you’ve never been to Southeast Asia before or if you’re visiting the Philippines for the first time, then the food is alright. If you are used to delicious Thai or Vietnamese food, you will be quite disappointed.

Typhoon Hagupit (aka “Ruby”)

After an unexpectedly beautiful day in Manila’s Rizal Park and Intramuros, the old colonial district, we went back to our hotel and noticed in the news that there was a super typhoon heading to the Philippines.

Splendid. Because the next day we were supposed to fly to Boracay, which was almost located on the route of the typhoon. According to Google, many flights were already canceled and the boat service to Boracay was closed down.

On the next day we drove to the airport and headed straight to the ticketing office of the Philippine Airlines to ask for a refund of our ticket. Unfortunately, that wasn’t possible because the flight was on schedule and the typhoon didn’t arrive at Boracay yet. This was in my opinion a irresponsibility of the airline! A reasonable change of the booking wasn’t also possible. It would have cost more than buying a new ticket.

However, we didn’t have another choice than spontaneously buy a new ticket to Palawan on the very same day. What a pity Philippine Airlines, you could have managed that in a better way!

El Nido

'Welcome to Palawan' banner at the baggage belt of Puerto Princesa

Finally we arrived on Palawan. After spending the first night in Puerto Princesa, we left in a completely overcrowded minivan to El Nido. To paradise.

Again we were unlucky or rather followed by typhoon “Ruby”. It was raining cats and dogs for about 2 days and it was really windy, not what we imagined on a paradise island. At least we were able to use that time to work on our blog and publish our first German ebook about Thailand.

In total we spent about one week in El Nido and in the end we did like it much better than in the beginning. The weather was better and we’ve seen many paradise-like islands with amazing beaches. More on that in some articles later.

Paradise Beach on Cadlao Island, El Nido (Palawan)
Paradise Beach on Cadlao Island, El Nido

First conclusion

We just had some bad luck and not the best start in this country but it got way better. Now we are even looking more forward to Boracay…

You might also like

Tobi

Hi, I'm Tobi, a passionate travel blogger and freelancer in translations and copy writing. Mostly I travel around Southeast Asia and work remotely from different locations. If you want to know where I am or what I'm doing, just follow me on Twitter, Instagram or Facebook.

Booking.com

This post is also available in: English

Ankunft in Manila. Die philippinische Hauptstadt gibt sich auch nachts typisch südostasiatisch heiß und schwül, was uns aber mittlerweile nicht mehr beeindrucken kann. Nach einem 4-Stunden-Flug aus Kuala Lumpur und einer problemlosen Einreise (mit Überprüfung der Rückflugtickets), suchten wir uns ein Taxi, das uns zum Hotel bringen sollte.

Zugegeben, wir haben uns vorher noch nie wirklich mit den Philippinen beschäftigt und nur wenig darüber gelesen (außer unseren Round-Up-Post natürlich). Anders gesagt: wir haben unsere Hausaufgaben nicht gemacht, weil wir einfach zu faul waren. 😀 Einfach mal hin und sehen, wie es so ist, war das Motto.

Taxi fahren

Obwohl wir vom Flughafen ein Taxi mit Taxameter genommen haben, war die Fahrt zum Hotel schon mal wesentlich teurer als erwartet (ca. 500 Pesos = knapp unter 10 Euro). OK, der Fahrer musste noch ein wenig die Straße hoch und runterfahren (und zwar rückwärts, weil es eine Einbahnstraße war), um es zu finden, aber wir haben es viel günstiger erwartet.

Die erste große positive Überraschung war aber, dass die Filipinos ziemlich gut Englisch können. ALLE, sogar die Taxifahrer und alte Frauen. Und auch unter sich wird teilweise einfach Englisch gesprochen. So hörst du oft eher ein „Thank you“, als ein „Salamat“. Allgemein sind die Filipinos sehr nett, sympathisch und hilfsbereit. Das macht das Reisen hier schon mal wesentlich einfacher und angenehmer.

Das Taxifahren in der City von Manila ist aber gar nicht so easy und günstig. Erstens ist es nicht einfach ein freies Taxi zu bekommen. Zweitens wollen viele Fahrer ihr Taxameter (zumindest bei Touristen) nicht einschalten und nennen lieber einen Festpreis und irgendwelche Gründe (meistens heißt es wegen „Traffic“).

Manila

Jeepneys in der City von Manila, Philippinen
Jeepneys in der City von Manila

Nächster Morgen. Wie fast in jeder Großstadt, die wir erstmalig besuchen, machen wir uns einfach zu Fuß auf den Weg und erkunden sie. So auch hier in Manila.

Die Stadt ist einfach anders – nicht wie Bangkok, Jakarta, Kuala Lumpur. Auf der Suche nach einem Frühstück bzw. eher Mittagessen fiel uns auf, dass es hier viel weniger Garküchen und Streetfood gibt, als in den anderen Metropolen Südostasiens.

So liefen wir erst mal eine kleine Weile durch den Stadtteil Malate, um dann in einem kleinen Shop schließlich „Caldereta“ und „Pork Adobo“ zu probieren.

Liebe Filipinos, bitte überspringt diesen Absatz einfach. Denn ganz schnell mussten wir feststellen, dass das philippinische Essen leider keine kulinarische Offenbarung ist. Auch nach über 10 Tagen in diesem Land bleibe ich bei dieser Meinung. Ich habe bis jetzt leider noch kein Gericht probiert, das mich vom Hocker haut. Wer noch nie in Südostasien war und die Philippinen erstmalig besucht, für den mag es ja ok sein. Aber wer leckeres beispielsweise thailändisches oder vietnamesisches Essen gewöhnt ist, der wird hier leider sehr enttäuscht.

Taifun Hagupit (aka „Ruby“)

Nach einem unerwartet schönen Tag in Manilas Rizal Park und alten Kolonialviertel Intramuros machten wir uns auf den Weg zurück ins Hotel und erfuhren, dass ein Supertaifun auf die Philippinen zurast.

Großartig. Denn am nächsten Tag sollten wir nach Boracay fliegen, das fast genau auf der Route des Taifuns lag. Google sagte uns, dass bereits viele Flüge gecancelt wurden und auch keine Boote mehr nach Boracay fahren.

Am Tag darauf fuhren wir also zum Flughafen und gingen direkt zum Ticketbüro der Philippine Airlines, um zu fragen, ob wir das Ticket zurückerstattet bekommen könnten. Das war leider nicht möglich für unseren Flug – denn er ging planmäßig und noch war der Taifun ja nicht da. Das finde ich etwas verantwortungslos von der Airline! Nicht einmal eine günstige Umbuchung war möglich, denn diese hätte mehr als ein neues Ticket gekostet.

Uns blieb also nichts anderes übrig, als spontan ein neues Ticket am selben Tag nach Palawan zu buchen. Schade, Philippine Airlines, das hättet ihr besser machen können!

El Nido

'Welcome to Palawan' Banner am Gepäckband von Puerto Princesa

Schließlich sind wir auf Palawan angekommen. Nach einer Nacht in Puerto Princesa ging es per völlig überfülltem Minivan nach El Nido. Ins Paradies.

Auch hier wurden wir vom Pech – besser gesagt vom Taifun „Ruby“ – verfolgt. 2 Tage strömender Regen und Wind waren alles andere als paradiesisch. Zumindest konnten wir die Zeit gut nutzen und schließlich unser Thailand E-Book „Same Way But Different“ veröffentlichen.

Insgesamt verbrachten wir ca. eine Woche in El Nido und es gefiel mir am Ende wesentlich besser, als am Anfang. Das Wetter wurde besser und viele paradiesische Traumstrände haben wir gesehen. Dazu gibt es später dann noch eigene Artikel.

Paradise Beach auf Cadlao Island, El Nido (Palawan)
Paradise Beach auf Cadlao Island, El Nido

Erstes Fazit: wir hatten einfach viel Pech und nicht gerade den besten Start in diesem Land, doch es wurde mit der Zeit besser. Jetzt freuen wir uns umso mehr auf Boracay…

Das könnte dir auch gefallen

Marcel

Moin, ich bin Marcel! Blogger, Autor, Web- & Grafikdesigner und digitaler Nomade. Ich reise am liebsten durch Südostasien und entdecke dort traumhafte Strände und leckeres Essen. Meine Homebase ist Koh Phangan, Thailand. Folge mir auf Facebook, Twitter, Instagram oder Steemit.

Booking.com