Dieser Artikel ist auch verfügbar auf: Deutsch

When most people think of Pink Beach, they think of a completely pink beach, often confused with the one on Komodo. Many visitors are disappointed because they see the many Instagram photos of the Pink Beach on Komodo and expect exactly the same on Lombok.

Well, I have to disappoint you right from the start, because the Pink Beach on Lombok doesn’t have such an intense color. However, it’s still a beautiful beach with bright turquoise water.

Aussicht vom Hügel auf den Pink Beach, Lombok
View of the Pink Beach in the dry season

Lombok: Tour from Tanjung Luar to the Pink Beaches and Gili Sunut

Now that your expectations of the color of the sand have been lowered a bit, you can still look forward to an exciting tour of eastern Lombok. The east is still one of the most remote areas of Lombok and there is very little tourism in this area.

We have visited Pink Beach several times, but only by land. On our last trip to Lombok in September this year, we went on a boat tour and discovered many more places. Among them are the secret Pink Beaches 2 and 3 that hardly any tourist knows about. In this article, we’ll tell you about this great tour.


How to get to Lombok

To get to Lombok there are only two options, the airplane and the boat. Flights operate from many cities in Indonesia to Lombok. But the international airport already welcomes flights from abroad, e.g. from Singapore or Kuala Lumpur. For the future even flights from the Emirates or Australia are planned.

To find the best and cheapest flights for your trip to Lombok, check out Skyscanner. There you can compare prices, departure times, flight duration and the different airlines.

You can also take a boat to Lombok from e.g. Bali, the Gili Islands or Sumbawa. There is a difference between speed boats and local boats, because not only prices, but the duration of travel can vary significantly. An overview of different boats can be found on 12go.asia.

Accommodation in Lombok – our hotel tips

Lombok is a relatively large island and offers almost endless possibilities to stay. Whether in southern Kuta, in the capital Mataram or in the tourist center of Senggigi on the west coast – on Lombok you will find many accommodations in all price ranges.

We personally recommend a stay in Senggigi and surroundings. A great hotel is the Qunci Villas, which is located on a secluded, quiet beach. The center of Senggigi is only a short taxi or scooter ride away. But also near the Qunci Villas you will find some restaurants and shops.

Garden and the Qozy Rooms with a garden view at Qunci Villas hotel in Lombok

Of course, there are also a number of beautiful hotels and homestays in Kuta, which you can book here.


Getting to the Pink Beach

Our tour started at the port of Tanjung Luar in the east of Lombok. There you can find lots of offices and boats that offer these tours. Tanjung Luar is known for its controversial fish market where unfortunately sharks are sold. The trip from Senggigi to Tanjung Luar takes over 2 hours and crosses the entire island. So it’s very important to leave on time.

Going to Pink Beach on your own, e.g. by scooter from Kuta, is a popular choice. But be careful: the roads are still very bad and in the dry season even very dusty. This is certainly not for the inexperienced scooter rider. So we think a boat trip might be a good alternative.

Boat at the harbor of Tanjung Luar, East Lombok
Our boat at Tanjung Luar

Pink Beach 2 and 3

From Tanjung Luar, we passed Gili Maringkik (Maringkik Island) – a small island with a whole village built on it. There are even power poles running through the sea connecting the island to Lombok. Another popular stop in this area is Gili Pasir, a sandbank island. Because of the high tide, we couldn’t stop there.

So we went straight to the first highlight without stopping. Pink Beach 3 is not directly accessible by car or scooter (you have to walk a little bit), which makes it a very isolated beach. When we arrived there, no one was around. It was just perfect!

View of Pink Beach 3 in the east of Lombok
Pink Beach 3

The name “Pink Beach” is a bit misleading. But the beach itself was very impressive. The water is turquoise and the sand is so soft that your feet sink into it. It was absolutely peaceful and secluded.

This boat trip is also great for snorkeling. A popular snorkeling spot is Tanjung Cumi. The “Octopus Cape” is a rock formation that looks like the tentacles of an octopus, hence the name. We didn’t go snorkeling here due to strong currents and cold water temperatures.

Snorkeling at Tanjung Cumi in the east of Lombok
Snorkeling stop: Tanjung Cumi

The next Pink Beach was also completely deserted. Theoretically, you can get there by land, but the roads are only sand tracks. There is nothing else around, so a scooter ride is not really safe.

View of the Pink Beach 2 in the east of Lombok
Pink Beach 2

Marcel at Pink Beach 2

We made it: Pink Beach (Tangsi Beach)

The last stop before the actual Pink Beach was the 2 tiny islands Gili Petelu and Pulau Tiga, which are connected by a sandbank. They are incredibly small and just rocks in the water. It’s a great spot to take photos and also a good place for snorkeling.

Snorkeling in front of Gili Petelu, East Lombok
Another popular snorkeling spot: Gili Petelu

A few minutes later we were on our way to the place I already knew. The cape of Pink Beach was getting closer and closer and just behind it we were heading straight for the beach. Admittedly, the surroundings of Pink Beach (as well as the whole area in the southeast of Lombok) don’t look quite as beautiful in the dry season as in the “green season”. But the water was just as I remembered it: clear and turquoise.

Rocks at Pink Beach with Gili Petelu and Pulau Tiga in the background
The cape at Pink Beach with Gili Petelu in the background

We stayed here for a while and before we went into the water, we climbed onto the rock or cape on the east side of the beach. From up there you have a great view of the surroundings and Tangsi Beach, as it’s actually called.

Tobi on the hill at Pink Beach, East Lombok

Red coral on Pink Beach in Lombok
These corals give the sand its pink color.

Marcel swimming at Pink Beach

At Pink Beach, there are several warungs and small shops. Here you can get something to eat, a coconut or other drinks. Sometimes you can see goats or even monkeys living behind the beach.

By the way: If you visit Pink Beach by car or scooter, you have to pay an entrance fee of 50,000 Rupiah (at least if there is someone there). If you go by boat, you save this money.

Gili Sunut

After a few hours on the beach, our guide took us to the last stop of the tour. On the way back to Tanjung Luar we stopped at Gili Sunut. This island is only populated by a few fishermen and is otherwise uninhabited. Gili Sunut is also known for its sandbank that connects it to Lombok.

View of the sandbank between Gili Sunut and mainland Lombok
View of the sandbank between Gili Sunut and mainland Lombok

The beach on the north side of the island is absolutely wonderful! There were no tourists around for miles, and except for two fishermen, nobody else was on the beach. The view from the hill to the white shimmering beach was especially beautiful. A real highlight at the end of the tour!

View oft he dream beach at Gili Sunut in East Lombok
Dream Beach on Gili Sunut

Apparently, the sandbank is a popular photo motif, especially for the locals. We found the beach on the other side of the island much more interesting.

Conclusion

A great alternative to the Pink Beach on Lombok. Admittedly, Pink Beach is no longer an insider tip and has become a popular tourist destination on Lombok – especially for day-trippers or visitors from Kuta who come by scooter.

If the original Pink Beach didn’t convince you, the other beaches on the Ekas peninsula or in the Sunut area sure will. Pink Beach 2 and 3 were really nice and we also liked Gili Sunut. If you’re looking for real peace and solitude, then you should take a boat trip from Tanjung Luar.

By the way, plan a full day for this. Just the trip to the east and back takes more than 4 hours. The price for the boat trip is 600,000 rupiah (excluding transportation) and is definitely worth the money. Especially if you’re traveling with several people and can share the cost.

Plan your trip to Lombok now

More hotel recommendations for Lombok:


Lombok: Tours and Tickets

Do you prefer to travel with a guide who knows the area very well? Then we recommend a guided tour with a local. This way you can get to know Lombok in a completely different way. GetYourGuide offers a wide selection of exciting tours for Lombok.

Have you been to Pink Beach Lombok before? How did you like the beach? Have you visited the other Pink Beaches?

Beim Pink Beach denken die meisten an einen komplett rosanen Strand, der oftmals sogar mit dem auf Komodo verwechselt wird. Viele Besucher sind enttäuscht, weil sie vorher die vielen Instagram Fotos vom Pink Beach auf Komodo sehen und genau das auch auf Lombok erwarten.

Hier muss ich dich von vornherein schon mal enttäuschen, denn der Pink Beach auf Lombok hat längst nicht so eine intensive Farbe. Trotzdem ist er immer noch ein schöner Strand mit leuchtend türkisem Wasser.

Aussicht vom Hügel auf den Pink Beach, Lombok
Aussicht auf den Pink Beach in der Trockenzeit

Lombok: Tour von Tanjung Luar zu den Pink Beaches und Gili Sunut

Jetzt, wo deine Erwartungen an die Farbe des Sandes etwas heruntergeschraubt sind, kannst du dich trotzdem auf eine spannende Tour in den Osten Lomboks freuen. Der Osten zählt noch zu den unberührtesten Gebieten Lomboks und hier ist der Tourismus noch sehr wenig entwickelt.

Den Pink Beach haben wir schon mehrfach besucht, jedoch nur über Land. Bei unserer letzten Lombok Reise im September diesen Jahres haben wir eine Bootstour gemacht und dabei noch viele weitere Orte entdeckt. Darunter auch die geheimen Pink Beaches 2 und 3, die kaum ein Tourist kennt. In diesem Artikel möchten wir von dieser tollen Tour berichten.


Anfahrt zum Pink Beach

Unsere Tour begann am Hafen von Tanjung Luar im Osten Lomboks. Dort gibt es Büros und Bootsfahrer, die diese Touren anbieten. Tanjung Luar ist bekannt für seinen kontroversen Fischmarkt, an dem leider auch Haie verkauft werden. Die Fahrt von Senggigi nach Tanjung Luar dauert über 2 Stunden und führt komplett durch die Insel. Rechtzeitig losfahren ist daher sehr wichtig.

Die Anfahrt zum Pink Beach auf eigene Faust, z.B. mit dem Roller von Kuta, ist eine beliebte Variante. Doch Vorsicht: die Straßen sind auch heute noch richtig schlecht und in der Trockenzeit sogar sehr staubig. Das ist nichts für ungeübte Rollerfahrer. Deswegen finden wir ist eine Tour mit dem Boot eine gute Alternative.

Boot am Hafen von Tanjung Luar, Ost-Lombok
Unser Boot in Tanjung Luar

Pink Beach 2 und 3

Von Tanjung Luar ging es vorbei an Gili Maringkik (Maringkik Island) – eine kleine Insel, auf der sich ein ganzes Dorf befindet. Es führen sogar Strommasten durch das Meer, welche die Insel mit Lombok verbinden. Ein weiterer beliebter Stop in dieser Gegend ist auch Gili Pasir, eine Sandbank-Insel. Wegen des Hochwassers war für uns jedoch kein Stop möglich.

Somit fuhren wir ohne Zwischenstopp direkt auf den ersten Höhepunkt zu. Der Pink Beach 3 ist mit dem Auto oder Roller nicht direkt zu erreichen (du müsstest noch ein Stück zu Fuß laufen), was ihn zu einem total unberührten Strand macht. Als wir dort ankamen, war weit und breit kein Mensch. Ein Traum!

Aussicht auf den Pink Beach 3 im Osten Lomboks
Pink Beach 3

Selbst wenn der Name Pink Beach hier wieder nicht ganz zutreffend ist, hat uns der Strand auf jeden Fall überzeugt. Das Wasser strahlt türkis und der Sand ist so weich, dass deine Füße darin versinken. Absolute Ruhe und Einsamkeit.

Ebenfalls für Schnorchler ist diese Bootstour gut geeignet. Ein beliebter Schnorchelspot ist beispielsweise Tanjung Cumi. Das „Tintenfisch Kap“ ist eine Felsformation, die von oben an die Tentakel eines Tintenfisches erinnert, daher der Name. Wir haben uns aufgrund von zu starken Strömungen und kalten Wassertemperaturen das Schnorcheln hier gespart.

Schnorcheln am Tanjung Cumi im Osten Lomboks
Schnorchelstopp: Tanjung Cumi

Auch der nächste Pink Beach war menschenleer. Diesen kannst du zwar theoretisch auch direkt über Land erreichen, jedoch sind die Straßen dorthin nur Sandwege. Weit und breit ist nichts und niemand, was eine Rollerfahrt nicht ungefährlich macht.

Aussicht auf den Pink Beach 2 im Osten Lomboks
Pink Beach 2

Marcel am Pink Beach 2

Angekommen: Pink Beach (Tangsi Beach)

Der letzte Stopp, bevor es zum eigentlichen Pink Beach ging, waren die 2 winzigen Inseln Gili Petelu und Pulau Tiga, welche durch eine Sandbank miteinander verbunden sind. Sie sind unvorstellbar klein und sozusagen nur Felsen im Wasser. Ein toller kurzer Fotostopp und auch ein guter Ort zum Schnorcheln.

Schnorcheln vor Gili Petelu, Ost-Lombok
Ein weiterer beliebter Schnorchelspot: Gili Petelu

Wenige Minuten später fuhren wir auch schon auf den mir bereits bekannten Ort zu. Das Kap vom Pink Beach kam immer näher und kurz dahinter steuerten wir direkt in Richtung Strand. Zugegeben sieht die Umgebung vom Pink Beach (sowie die gesamte Gegend im Südosten Lomboks) in der Trockenzeit nicht ganz so schön aus wie in der „Green Season“. Aber: das Wasser war genau so, wie ich es in Erinnerung hatte: klar und türkis.

Felsen am Pink Beach mit Gili Petelu und Pulau Tiga im Hintergrund
Das Kap am Pink Beach mit Gili Petelu im Hintergrund

Hier verbrachten wir also eine Weile und bevor es ins Wasser ging, mussten wir obligatorisch den Felsen bzw. das Kap auf der Ostseite des Strandes besteigen. Von dort oben hast du eine Hammer Aussicht auf die Umgebung und den Tangsi Beach, wie er eigentlich heißt.

Tobi auf dem Hügel am Pink Beach, Ost-Lombok

Rote Koralle am Pink Beach auf Lombok
Von diesen Korallen bekommt der Sand seine rosa Färbung

Marcel beim Schwimmen am Pink Beach

Am Pink Beach gibt es eine Reihe von Warungs und kleinen Shops. Hier kannst du essen, dir eine Kokosnuss oder sonstige Getränke kaufen. Ab und zu triffst du noch auf Ziegen oder sogar Affen, die hinter dem Strand wohnen.

Übrigens: Wenn du den Pink Beach über Land mit dem Auto oder Roller besuchst, ist eine Eintrittsgebühr von 50.000 Rupiah fällig (zumindest, wenn jemand vor Ort ist). Mit dem Boot sparst du dir diese.

Gili Sunut

Nach einigen Stunden am Strand brachte uns unser Bootsmann zum letzten Stopp dieser Tour. Auf dem Rückweg nach Tanjung Luar hielten wir vor Gili Sunut an. Diese Insel wird nur von einigen Fischern besiedelt und ist ansonsten unbewohnt. Auch Gili Sunut ist bekannt für ihre Sandbank, die sie mit Lombok verbindet.

Aussicht auf die Sandbank zwischen Gili Sunut und dem Festland von Lombok
Aussicht auf die Sandbank zwischen Gili Sunut und dem Festland von Lombok

Der Strand auf der Nordseite der Insel ist ein Traum! Hier waren weit und breit keine Touristen und außer zwei Fischern auch sonst niemand anderes am Strand. Besonders schön war die Aussicht vom Hügel auf den weiß schimmernden Strand. Ein echtes Highlight zum Ende dieser Tour!

Aussicht auf den Traumstrand von Gili Sunut im Osten Lomboks
Traumstrand auf Gili Sunut

Anscheinend ist die Sandbank besonders für Locals ein beliebtes Fotomotiv. Wir persönlich fanden den Strand auf der anderen Seite der Insel wesentlich interessanter.

Fazit

Eine tolle Alternative, um den Pink Beach auf Lombok zu besuchen. Zugegeben ist der Pink Beach längst kein Geheimtipp mehr und ein beliebtes touristisches Ziel auf Lombok – gerade für Tagestouren oder Besucher aus Kuta, die mit dem Roller kommen.

Wenn dich der eigentliche Pink Beach nicht überzeugt hat, dann werden es sicherlich die anderen Strände auf der Ekas Halbinsel bzw. in der Sunut Gegend. Pink Beach 2 und 3 waren richtig schön und auch Gili Sunut hat uns super gefallen. Wenn du echte Ruhe und Einsamkeit suchst, dann solltest du eine Bootstour von Tanjung Luar machen.

Übrigens: Plane hierfür den ganzen Tag ein. Alleine die Fahrt in den Osten und zurück dauert insgesamt schon über 4 Stunden. Der Preis für die Bootstour beträgt 600.000 Rupiah (exklusive Anfahrt) und ist den Preis auf jeden Fall wert. Vor allem, wenn du mit mehreren Personen unterwegs bist und dir die Kosten teilen kannst.

Warst du mal am Pink Beach Lombok? Wie hat dir der Strand gefallen? Hast du vielleicht auch sogar die anderen Pink Beaches besucht?