Dieser Artikel ist auch verfügbar auf: Deutsch

Wae Rebo is something special in every way. Not everyone knows the small village in the mountainous hinterland of the Indonesian island of Flores. But Indonesian travel influencers and instagrammers are working on this fact to change. Wae Rebo is already the dream destination of many adventurous Indonesians, whereas foreign tourists still regard it as a small insider tip.

Wae Rebo review – is it worth it?

The traditional houses in the village Wae Rebo, Flores (Indonesia)
The famous traditional houses in the village of Wae Rebo

First a few facts, so that you can imagine where you can find this legendary place:

  • Wae Rebo is located on the Indonesian island of Flores, which you can reach with a short flight from Bali or with a longer one from Jakarta.
  • From Labuan Bajo, the largest “city” in Flores, it is actually only 70 km to the foot of the mountain on which Wae Rebo is situated.
  • Wae Rebo itself can only be reached on foot, via a 2 or 3 hours hike steeply up the mountain (depending on your personal fitness level).
  • The village itself is situated on a plateau surrounded by breathtaking jungle-covered mountains.

Our own story with Wae Rebo began with a short trip to Flores in November 2018 – we flew to Labuan Bajo to discover Komodo dragons, manta rays and other marine life in the adjacent national park. Over beer and fried fish at the night market we had a chat with Indonesian travelers who told us about the mystical Wae Rebo. A village that can only be reached on foot? A wild drive into the hinterland of Flores? Indigenous people who lives there undisturbed? We were hooked.

How to get to Wae Rebo

A few months later we were ready to go: from Bali we flew to Flores, rented a motorbike in one of the many shops lining the street after a hearty breakfast in the Bajo Bakery (they have Swiss cheese and fantastic Flores coffee) and drove off.

Airplane at the Labuan Bajo airport on Flores
Labuan Bajo Airport on Flores
View from the Bajo Bakery to Labuan Bajo, Flores
View from Bajo Bakery to Labuan Bajo

One more thing: If you decide to go on this adventure, you have to be able to ride scooters very well. Some “roads” are often not paved, very steep, completely made of huge stones with big gaps between them or lead through rivers. Be realistic about your driving skills and don’t drive alone. For many kilometers you will not meet anyone – that means if you are out of petrol, get a flat tire or whatever, it’s much better to drive together with a fellow traveler. And insist on a helmet – many scooter rentals won’t automatically give you one, as police checks in Flores are rare. But since the roads are so bad, wearing a helmet is still a serious life insurance.

The first 20 or 30 km the roads are paved – very curvy and narrow, but paved. When we were on the road in April, there were several landslides – i.e. the roads were hardly passable. Fortunately it was dry. If it had rained, it would have been very dangerous. Therefore I recommend a trip in the dry season (March to September).

On the mountains above Labuan Bajo there are some nice viewpoints from where you can see parts of the Komodo National Park. That could be perhaps a first photo stop, in order to stretch your legs a little, because the way to Wae Rebo is still long.

In the hinterland of Flores

After we had passed the mountains, we arrived in the flat hinterland of Flores, which looks like it has fallen out of time. The further away we were from Labuan Bajo, the fewer cars there were. At a certain point there are no petrol stations, no supermarkets, no Warungs anymore. Only rice fields, farmhouses, cows and a few scooters. The silence was deafening. We were stunned. How could a few kilometers make such a difference?

Rice fields and houses on the way to Wae Rebo
In the hinterland of Flores

Rice fields and houses on the way to Wae Rebo

Our journey took us across makeshift bridges, wobbly wooden footpaths, through rivers, foothills of the sea (sometimes it takes a lot of strength to push the scooter up and down at places, because some stretches of the road are not “drivable”).

Flooded bridge on the way to Wae Rebo, Flores

Child refueling the scooter in Flores, Indonesia

To get to Wae Rebo by scooter, there are several routes – it is best to download an offline map, as there is no cell signal after a certain point and no road signs anyway. I recommend you to enter “Dintor” or “SDK Denge” in Google Maps. Cars usually take the road to Ruteng, which is a bit further. We chose the route to Dintor, which led us along the sea. Long, long distances without meeting anyone (except a few goats) – the salty wind on our skin – it was a dream come true!

Although it is only about 70 km (depending on the route), our scooter tour took more than 5 hours because of the sad state of the roads. Don’t underestimate that and start in any case before noon in Labuan Bajo. In the darkness, it is impossible to drive on these kind of roads, and you will very likely get lost as well.

Lonely roads along the coast on the way to Wae Rebo Lodge, Flores
Lonely roads along the coast on the way to Wae Rebo Lodge

Wae Rebo Lodge

We arrived at Wae Rebo Lodge – one of the two accommodation options in the village of Dintor, where you can spend the night before your hike the next morning. The Wae Rebo Lodge is beautifully set in the emerald rice fields, has only a few hours of electricity a day (remember this if you want to recharge your phone) and serves you 3 meals (included in the price of approximately 25 Euro): In the evening when you arrive, in the morning before you leave, and after the hike when you return to pick up your scooter/luggage. The food has always been the same: rice with vegetables/fish/meat.

The Wae Rebo Lodge in Flores, Indonesia
Wae Rebo Lodge

Since there wasn’t much to do in the lodge, we went to bed early (not without taking a good look at the star-studded sky, of course). At 5.00 A.M. we got up, had our rice breakfast and drove the last few kilometers to a kind of parking lot from where all the hikes to Wae Rebo start.

We were not sure about whether we should hire a guide, but decided against it. As it turned out, this was not necessary. There is only one path and it leads steeply upwards through dense jungle with orchids, all kinds of plants and animals.

Depending on the humidity level, there can also be leeches. My travel partner got bitten by one – even though it is not considered dangerous, it is something to keep in mind. The (small) snake that crossed our path was also part of the whole jungle adventure package. You don’t necessarily need hiking boots, a pair of good sneakers will do. But I recommend you to wear long (linen-)pants, because it’s a bit cool up there (in the village). After 2 hours of climbing and clambering we reached a point with a view of the mountain valley, where the roofs of the huts of Wae Rebo were already peeking out of the forest. A very sublime moment and after all the sweating and getting up early we had the feeling that all the effort was worth it. But this feeling was not meant to stay…

Finally: Arrival in the village of Wae Rebo

In front of the village itself there is a board with rules which should give orientation: e.g. no display of affection, no leaving behind of garbage etc. After this board you walk through a solidly built village until you see the famous huts of Wae Rebo.

Info board with the rules of conduct in Wae Rebo village

The traditional houses in the village Wae Rebo, Flores (Indonesia)

We were told to wait at the entrance until someone from the village picked us up. But since nobody showed up, we went straight to the biggest hut to present ourselves to the village elder.

Important note: you are not allowed to take photos until you have been greeted by the village elder. He accepted our mandatory “donation” of 50,000 IDR per person (about 3.50 Euro) and welcomed us to Wae Rebo. Theoretically, you can decide by yourself how much you want to “donate”.

One of the traditional Wae Rebo houses in the mountains of Flores

A young man led us to another hut – there he showed us our sleeping spots (350,000 IDR per person per night, about 22 Euro) on the floor of the common room. We were a little surprised about the price – even more when we learned that the huts were not “authentically” old, but were recently rebuilt by a team of architects from Jakarta according to old models.

The villagers also didn’t seem to live in the huts at all, but in the more solid concrete houses a little further up. There was no interaction between the villagers and the tourists, but the children tore the wooden crayons we brought for them out of our hands and ran away. In the hut for the tourists there was also a souvenir shop where you could buy woven scarves, coffee and honey.

We were so surprised by the prices for the overnight stay, the anticipated coldness of the villagers and the generally rather unpleasant mood in the village that we turned back on our heels and started the way down with the hope to arrive back in Labuan Bajo before nightfall (spoiler Alert: we didn’t quite make it and had to drive through the pitch-black mountain roads. Not to be recommended!).

Sunset in Flores on the way back from Wae Rebo

Conclusion

It is a sensitive topic and of course a matter of taste; also a matter of what you are looking for. How much “authenticity” can one expect when traveling to a presumably “remote” place? For me personally, the village of Wae Rebo was a bit too touristic, and not in a nice way. The atmosphere was weird and I had the impression that a show was put on for the tourists. Other friends who had visited the place found it magical, experienced the people as extremely friendly and the prices absolutely reasonable. So it really depends on what your own perspective is. For me, the beautiful motorbike trip back and forth was far more rewarding than the visit of the village itself.


About the author

Guest author
Lisa

If she’s not doing yoga or racing around Indonesia on a motorcycle, Lisa will be found close to a turquoise beach, preferably a glass of red wine in her hand and sand between her toes. Having lived in Southeast Asia for more than 4 years, she’s fallen deeply for this part of the world – if only there was more ‘real’ Pizza around! You can follow her travels and hunt for Pizza on Instagram: @lisa_asia

Have you been to Wae Rebo before? How was your experience? Did you like the village? Let us know in the comments!

This post is also available in: English

Wae Rebo ist etwas Besonderes, in jeder Hinsicht. Nicht jeder kennt das kleine Dörfchen im bergigen Hinterland der indonesischen Insel Flores. Indonesische Reise-Influencer und Instagrammer sorgen aber dafür, dass sich das rasant ändert. Wo es bei ausländischen Touristen noch eher als kleiner Geheimtipp gilt, ist Wae Rebo schon jetzt das Sehnsuchtsziel vieler abenteuerlustiger Indonesierinnen und Indonesier.

Wae Rebo Erfahrungsbericht – lohnt es sich?

Die traditionellen Häuser im Dorf Wae Rebo, Flores (Indonesien)
Die berühmten traditionellen Häuser im Dorf Wae Rebo

Zunächst ein paar Fakten, so dass du dir vorstellen kannst, wo dieses sagenumwobene Örtchen überhaupt liegt:

  • Wae Rebo liegt auf der indonesischen Insel Flores, die du mit einem kurzen Flug von Bali oder mit einem längeren von Jakarta aus erreichen kannst.
  • von Labuan Bajo aus, der größten „Stadt“ in Flores, sind es eigentlich nur 70 km bis zum Fuße des Berges, auf dem Wae Rebo liegt.
  • Wae Rebo an sich kannst du nur zu Fuß, via einer 2- oder 3-stündigen Wanderung steil den Berg hinauf (je nach Fitnesslevel) erreichen.
  • Das Dorf selbst liegt auf einem Plateau, das von atemberaubenden dschungelbedeckten Bergen umgeben ist.

Unsere Geschichte mit Wae Rebo begann mit einem kurzen Trip nach Flores im November 2018 – wir flogen nach Labuan Bajo, um im angrenzenden Nationalpark Komodo-Warane, Mantarochen und andere Meeresbewohner zu beobachten. Bei Bier und gebratenem Fisch auf dem Nachtmarkt kamen wir anschließend mit indonesischen Travellern ins Gespräch, die uns von dem mystischen Wae Rebo erzählten. Ein Dorf, das man nur zu Fuß erreichen kann? Eine wilde Fahrt ins Hinterland von Flores? Ein indigenes Volk, das ungestört dort lebt? Wir waren angefixt.

Anreise nach Wae Rebo

Ein paar Monate später war es dann soweit: von Bali flogen wir nach Flores, mieteten uns nach einem stärkenden Frühstück in der Bajo Bakery (dort gibt es Schweizer Käse und fantastischen Flores-Kaffee) ein Moped in einem der vielen Shops, die die Straße säumen, und fuhren los.

Flugzeug am Labuan Bajo Flughafen auf Flores
Labuan Bajo Flughafen auf Flores
Aussicht von der Bajo Bakery auf Labuan Bajo, Flores
Aussicht von der Bajo Bakery auf Labuan Bajo

Eines noch vorneweg: Wenn du dich entscheidest, dieses Abenteuer erleben zu wollen, musst du sehr gut Roller fahren können. Manche „Straßen“ sind oft keine, sehr steil, komplett aus riesigen Steinen mit großen Lücken dazwischen oder führen durch Flüsse. Schätze vorher deine Fahrkünste realistisch ein und fahre nicht alleine. Auf weiten Strecken triffst du keine Menschenseele – das heißt, wenn du kein Benzin mehr hast, einen platten Reifen oder was auch immer, es ist sehr viel besser, zu zweit zu fahren. Und bestehe auf einem Helm – viele Vermieter geben dir automatisch keinen, da Polizeikontrollen in Flores eher selten sind. Da aber die Straßen so schlecht sind, ist das Tragen eines Helms trotzdem eine echte Lebensversicherung.

Die ersten 20 oder 30 km sind die Straßen asphaltiert – sehr kurvig und eng, jedoch asphaltiert. Als wir im April unterwegs waren, gab es mehrere Erdrutsche – d.h. die Straßen waren kaum passierbar. Glücklicherweise war es trocken. Wenn es geregnet hätte, wäre es sehr gefährlich gewesen. Daher empfehle ich dir einen Trip in der Trockenzeit (März bis September).

Auf den Bergen über Labuan Bajo befinden sich ein paar nette Aussichtspunkte, wovon du Teile des Komodo-Nationalparks überblicken kannst. Das wäre vielleicht ein erster Fotostopp, um sich die Beine etwas zu vertreten, denn der Weg ist lang.

Im Hinterland von Flores

Nachdem wir die Berge passiert hatten, kamen wir im flachen Hinterland von Flores an, das aussieht, wie aus der Zeit gefallen. Je weiter wir uns von Labuan Bajo entfernten, desto weniger Autos gab es. Ab einem bestimmten Punkt gibt es keine Tankstellen, keine Supermärkte, keine Warungs mehr. Nur noch Reisfelder, Bauernhäuser, Kühe und ein paar Mopeds. Die Ruhe ist ohrenbetäubend. Wir kamen aus dem Staunen nicht mehr heraus. Wie konnten nur ein paar Kilometer so einen Unterschied machen?

Reisfelder und Häuser auf dem Weg nach Wae Rebo
Im Hinterland von Flores

Reisfelder in Flores auf dem Weg nach Wae Rebo

Unsere Reise führte uns über behelfsmäßige Brücken, wackelige Holzstege, durch Flüsse, Ausläufer des Meeres (manchmal braucht es eine gehörige Portion Kraft, da du den Roller irgendwo hoch bzw. herunter schieben musst, da manche Ecken nicht „befahrbar“ sind).

Überflutete Brücke auf dem Weg nach Wae Rebo, Flores

Kind beim Tanken des Rollers in Flores, Indonesien

Um mit dem Moped nach Wae Rebo zu kommen, gibt es mehrere Routen – am besten lädst du dir eine Offline Map herunter, da es ab einem bestimmten Punkt auch keinen Empfang mehr gibt und Straßenschilder sowieso nicht. Ich empfehle dir, bei Google Maps „Dintor“ oder „SDK Denge“ einzugeben. Autos nehmen meist die Straße nach Ruteng, was noch etwas weiter ist. Wir wählten die Route nach Dintor, die am Meer entlang führte. Lange, lange Strecken, ohne jemandem (außer ein paar Ziegen) zu begegnen – der salzige Wind auf der Haut – es war ein Traum!

Obwohl es nur ca. 70 km (je nach Route) sind, dauerte unsere Rollertour wegen der Straßen mehr als 5 Stunden. Unterschätze das nicht und fahre auf jeden Fall vor 12 Uhr Mittags in Labuan Bajo los. In der Dunkelheit ist es unmöglich, die Straßen zu befahren bzw. sich zu orientieren.

Einsame Straßen entlang der Küste auf dem Weg zur Wae Rebo Lodge, Flores
Einsame Straßen entlang der Küste auf dem Weg zur Wae Rebo Lodge

Wae Rebo Lodge

Wir kamen an der Wae Rebo Lodge an – einer der zwei Unterkünfte in dem Dorf Dintor, wo du vor deiner Wanderung am nächsten Morgen übernachten kannst. Die Wae Rebo Lodge liegt zauberhaft in die allgegenwärtigen Reisfelder eingebettet, hat nur ein paar Stunden Strom am Tag (bedenke das, wenn du dein Telefon aufladen willst) und serviert dir (im Preis von ca. 25 EUR inbegriffen) 3 Mahlzeiten: Am Abend, wenn du ankommst, am Morgen, bevor du losgehst, und nach der Wanderung wenn du wieder zurückkommst, um dein Moped/Gepäck abzuholen. Das Essen ist immer das gleiche gewesen: Reis mit Gemüse/Fisch/Fleisch.

Die Wae Rebo Lodge in Flores, Indonesien
Wae Rebo Lodge

Da es in der Lodge nicht viel zu tun gab, gingen wir früh zu Bett (nicht ohne noch einen Blick auf den funkelnden Sternenhimmel geworfen zu haben, natürlich). Um 5 Uhr standen wir auf, nahmen unser Reisfrühstück zu uns und fuhren die letzten paar Kilometer zu einer Art Parkplatz, von dem alle Wanderungen starteten.

Wir überlegten vorher lange, ob wir einen Guide anheuern sollten, entschieden uns aber dagegen. Wie sich herausstellte, war das auch gar nicht nötig. Es gibt nur einen Pfad und der führt steil nach oben durch dichten Dschungel mit Orchideen, allen möglichen Pflanzen und Tieren.

Je nach Feuchtigkeitslevel gibt es auch den einen oder anderen Blutegel, von dem mein Reisepartner gebissen wurde – damit musst du rechnen. Auch die (kleine) Schlange, die unseren Pfad kreuzte, gehört zur Dschungelerfahrung. Du brauchst nicht unbedingt Wanderschuhe, ein paar gute Sneakers reichen auch. Ich empfehle dir aber eine lange (Leinen-)hose zu tragen, da es oben (im Dorf) auch eher etwas kühl ist. Nach 2 Stunden Klettern und Kraxeln kamen wir dann zu einer ersten Biegung mit Blick auf das Bergtal, wo bereits die Dächer von Wae Rebo hervorspitzten. Ein sehr erhabener Moment und nach all dem Schwitzen und frühen Aufstehen hatten wir zunächst auch das Gefühl, dass es sich gelohnt hat. Dieses Gefühl muss aber nicht so bleiben…

Endlich: Ankunft im Dorf von Wae Rebo

Vor dem Dorf an sich befindet sich eine Tafel mit Regeln, die Orientierung geben sollen: z.B. kein Austausch von Zärtlichkeiten, kein Hinterlassen von Müll etc. Nach dieser Tafel läufst du durch ein recht solide gebautes Dorf, bis du die berühmten Hütten von Wae Rebo siehst.

Infotafel mit den Verhaltensregeln im Wae Rebo Dorf

Die traditionellen Häuser im Dorf Wae Rebo, Flores (Indonesien)

Uns wurde erzählt, dass wir am Eingang warten sollten, bis jemand vom Dorf uns abholt. Da jedoch niemand kam, machten wir uns direkt auf in die größte Hütte, um uns dem Dorfältesten zu präsentieren.

Wichtiger Hinweis: du darfst keine Fotos machen, bevor du nicht vom Dorfältesten begrüßt wurdest. Dieser nahm dann unsere obligatorische „Spende“ von 50.000 IDR pro Person (etwa 3.50 EUR) entgegen und hieß uns in Wae Rebo willkommen. Die Höhe der Spende ist den Touristen überlassen.

Eines der traditionellen Wae Rebo Häuser in den Bergen von Flores

Ein junger Mann führte uns in eine andere Hütte – dort zeigte er uns unsere Schlafplätze (350.000 IDR pro Person, etwa 22 EUR) im Gemeinschaftsraum. Wir waren über den Preis etwas verwundert – noch mehr, als wir erfuhren, dass die Hütten gar nicht „authentisch“ alt waren, sondern kürzlich von einem Architektenteam aus Jakarta nach alten Vorbildern wieder aufgebaut wurden.

Die Dorfbewohner schienen ebenfalls auch gar nicht in den Hütten zu wohnen, sondern in den aus Stein gebauten, normalen Häusern etwas weiter oben. Eine Interaktion der Dorfbewohner mit den Touristen fand eigentlich nicht statt – die Kinder rissen uns allerdings die eigens für sie mitgebrachten Holzbuntstifte aus der Hand und rannten davon. In der Hütte für die Touristen befand sich auch ein Souvenir-Shop, wo du Schals, Kaffee und Honig hättest kaufen können.

Wir waren von den Preisen für die Übernachtung, der gefühlten Kälte der Dorfbewohner und der allgemein eher unguten Stimmung in dem Dorf so überrascht, dass wir auf dem Absatz kehrt machten und den Weg nach unten antraten, mit der Hoffnung, noch im Tageslicht wieder in Labuan Bajo anzukommen (Spoiler Alert: wir haben es nicht ganz geschafft und mussten durch die stockdunklen Bergstraßen fahren. Nicht zu empfehlen!).

Sonnenuntergang in Flores auf dem Rückweg von Wae Rebo

Fazit

Es ist ein sensibles Thema und natürlich Geschmacksache, was du unter authentisch verstehst bzw. was du erwarten darfst, wenn du so einen Ort besuchst. Mir persönlich war es im Dorf von Wae Rebo etwas zu sehr auf Tourismus ausgerichtet. Die Stimmung war seltsam und ich hatte den Eindruck, ein Theaterstück vorgeführt zu bekommen. Andere Freunde, die den Ort besucht hatten, fanden ihn magisch, die Leute super freundlich und die Preise absolut angemessen. Es kommt also wirklich darauf an, was du erwartest. Für mich war in diesem Fall der Weg das Ziel.


Über die Autorin

Gastautorin Lisa
Lisa

Warst du auch schon in Wae Rebo? Wie war deine Erfahrung? Hat es dir im Dorf gefallen? Lass es uns in den Kommentaren wissen!