Dieser Artikel ist auch verfügbar auf: Deutsch

As mentioned in my Maldives travelogue (coming soon in English), I spent a few days at the Thulhagiri Island Resort in the North Malé Atoll (Kaafu Atoll). Today I would like to give you a little insight into the beautiful resort.

Review: Thulhagiri Island Resort in the Maldives

View at the arrival area and some water villas at Thulhagiri Island Resort

The Maldives offers a sheer endless selection of beautiful holiday islands. If you are looking for an island that is quickly accessible from Malé Airport, then you should definitely take a look at Thulhagiri Island.


Check rates and availability at the Thulhagiri Island Resort


How to get to Thulhagiri Island

Getting to Thulhagiri Island is very easy. If you book the hotel on your own, you should arrange a pick-up appointment from the airport in Malé with the Thulhagiri Island Resort. The resort will contact you and ask for your flight number and arrival time. After landing, you just go to the Thulhagiri counter in the pick-up area and wait for the speedboat.

Pick up by speedboat from Malé Airport
Pick up by speedboat from Malé Airport

The ride from Malé Airport to the island takes only about 25 minutes and the transfer ($ 100 per person, round trip) is paid at the front desk at check-in. If you book the hotel in a vacation package, you do not have to pay for this speedboat transfer and the staff will also be informed about your flight number and arrival time.

The check-in went smoothly and the welcome drink was delicious. The staff makes a nice and professional impression from the beginning. About 10 minutes after check-in, my wife and I were able to get to our accommodation. Incidentally, you will not have to worry about your luggage once you leave the speedboat. After check-in you will find your bags already in the room. A great service!

Reception and entrance area of Thulhagiri Island Resort
Reception and entrance area

Thulhagiri Island

Thulhagiri is a private island and with about 31,540 square meters relatively small. It is almost completely surrounded by beach. Particularly striking is the large main beach on the west side of the island, where a small beach bar is built, too.

The beaches on Thulhagiri Island are a dream and offer exactly what you would expect from a typical Maldives postcard theme: palm trees, white, fine sand and a bright turquoise sea. This was definitely one of the most beautiful islands I have ever visited!

Two colorful birds in the island center of Thulhagiri Island, Maldives
The island also houses many colorful birds that live here freely

Way to the main beach and the beach bar at Thulhagiri Island Resort, Maldives

Marcel and his wife on the beach of Thulhagiri Island, Maldives
Thulhagiri Island is also a great choice for couples and honeymooners
The Coconut Spa in the middle of the water
The Coconut Spa

Water villas

For anyone coming to the Maldives, it is certainly a dream to stay in a water villa. We also spent a few nights in one of the water villas, of which there are 34 in total in front of the island.

For a price of an average of about 400 euros (off season is a bit cheaper) you can stay above the Indian Ocean and jump from the terrace directly into the sea or go snorkeling. Or how about a glass bottom table where you can look beneath your bungalow? These are definitely the highlights of the water bungalows at Thulhagiri Island Resort.

Terrace overlooking the sea in the water villas of Thulhagiri Island Resort

Stairs from the water villa directly into the sea
From the terrace you can go directly into the sea
Glass Bottom Table in the water villas of Thulhagiri Island Resort, Maldives
Glass bottom table

Apart from that, the rooms were relatively well equipped and had everything you need. A very comfortable bed, air conditioning, a fridge and TV. I thought it was very nice that all the furniture in the room was made of wood or bamboo. The rooms were always clean and the housekeeping guys even came by twice a day.

One of the water villas from inside, Thulhagiri Island Resort, Maldives

Also Wi-Fi was available in the water villas, but the connection was not always the best. Presumably it was because our bungalow was further away from the center of the island. The closer you get to the island, the better the connection became. As I did not really expect Wi-Fi in the water villas, this was a positive surprise. In this price category the rooms could have a slightly better overall condition. All in all, however, my wife and I loved the stay.

Beach villas

The change from the water villa to the beach villa, which I booked separately, was without any problems. Again, we did not have to worry about the luggage and found it after the second check-in right in the new room.

The Thulhagiri Island Resort has a total of 50 beach villas of various categories/sizes, all along the east and north coast, as well as some close to the main beach. Our beach villa was on the east coast, near the swimming pool.

Marcel in the pool overlooking the ocean and the water villas
Turquoise, and more turquoise: the large swimming pool with a view

Despite the lower price, our beach bungalow was even better equipped and inside slightly larger than the water bungalow. The room definitely made a better impression and the beach section was very nice, too. The Wi-Fi worked perfectly and the bathroom was a bit nicer. If your budget for a Maldives vacation is not so big, I can definitely recommend a longer stay in the beach villas. If you still want to stay in a water bungalow though, then just book them for one night.

Room of a beach villa at Thulhagiri Island Resort, Maldives

Food

The food at Thulhagiri Island Resort surprised me a lot (in a positive way) and our expectations were more than exceeded. There was a huge breakfast selection, which was very good and also the lunch and dinner tasted delicious. We loved almost everything we tried: fish curry, steaks, vegetables, pasta dishes and much more. There was also a small selection of desserts and fruits.

Exterior of the restaurant at Thulhagiri Island Resort in the Maldives
Breakfast with a view: outside area of the restaurant

Breakfast at the restaurant of Thulhagiri Island Resort, Maldives

Breakfast buffet and egg preparation at Thulhagiri Island Resort, Maldives
The restaurant offers a large breakfast buffet and eggs of any kind are freshly prepared

You will be assigned a table right at the beginning, which will be reserved for you during the whole stay. At the same time, usually only one waiter takes care of you and serves you drinks etc. Remember to bring some small change (Dollars/Euros) for the tips.

Buffet lunch at the Thulhagiri Island Resort restaurant, Maldives
There is also a good selection of food for lunch and dinner

Tip: You can also upgrade to all inclusive for $ 60 per person per day. Usually you have half board when booking. The all inclusive menu also offers a range of afternoon snacks (delicious sandwiches and more), a good selection of drinks/cocktails and, of course, dinner. Especially if you want to drink a lot, this may be worthwhile for you. In case you book the stay on your own, e.g. via Booking.com, contact the hotel in time and ask for an all inclusive upgrade. You will pay it on site in cash or by credit card. With all inclusive you can also borrow snorkeling equipment for free.

The bar at Thulhagiri Island Resort in the Maldives
The bar at Thulhagiri Island Resort

Conclusion

Our stay at Thulhagiri Island Resort was fantastic overall. My wife and I had a great time and would return again. The staff was always very friendly and helpful, the beaches of the island are a dream and getting to the island was very easy. Thulhagiri is a good choice if you want to visit a comparably cheap resort island in the Maldives.

Marcel on the beach of Thulhagiri Island in the Maldives

Book Thulhagiri Island Resort & Spa here

This post is also available in: English

Wie in meinem Malediven Reisebericht schon erwähnt, habe ich einige Tage im Thulhagiri Island Resort im Nord-Malé-Atoll (Kaafu Atoll) verbracht. Heute möchte ich dir einen kleinen Einblick in das schöne Resort geben.

Erfahrungsbericht: Thulhagiri Island Resort auf den Malediven

Aussicht auf den Ankunftsbereich und einige Wasservillen im Thulhagiri Island Resort

Die Malediven bieten eine schier unendliche Auswahl an wunderschönen Urlaubsinseln. Wenn du eine Insel suchst, die schnell vom Malé Airport erreichbar ist, dann solltest du unbedingt einen Blick auf Thulhagiri Island werfen.


Preise und Verfügbarkeit im Thulhagiri Island Resort prüfen


Anreise Thulhagiri Island

Die Anreise nach Thulhagiri Island gestaltet sich sehr einfach. Wenn du das Hotel auf eigene Faust buchst, solltest du mit dem Thulhagiri Island Resort einen Abholtermin vom Flughafen in Malé vereinbaren. Das Resort wird dich hierzu kontaktieren und dich nach deiner Flugnummer und Ankunftszeit fragen. Nach der Landung gehst du einfach nur noch zum Thulhagiri Schalter im Abholbereich und wartest dann auf das Speedboot.

Abholung per Speedboat vom Malé Airport
Abholung per Speedboat vom Malé Airport

Die Fahrt vom Malé Airport zur Insel dauert nur ca. 25 Minuten und der Transfer (100 US-Dollar pro Person, hin und zurück) wird an der Rezeption beim Check-In bezahlt. Solltest du das Hotel in einem pauschalen Urlaubspaket buchen, musst du diesen Speedboot-Transfer nicht mehr bezahlen und auch über die Flugnummer und Ankunftszeit wissen die Mitarbeiter Bescheid.

Der Check-In verlief reibungslos und auch der Welcome Drink war lecker. Das Personal macht von Anfang an einen netten und professionellen Eindruck. Bereits etwa 10 Minuten nach dem Check-In konnten meine Frau und ich schon in unsere Unterkunft. Um dein Gepäck brauchst du dich übrigens nicht mehr zu kümmern, sobald du das Speedboot verlässt. Nach dem Check-In findest du deine Koffer bereits im Zimmer. Ein guter Service!

Rezeption und Eingangsbereich des Thulhagiri Island Resorts
Rezeption und Eingangsbereich

Thulhagiri Island

Thulhagiri ist eine Privatinsel und mit etwa 31.540 Quadratmetern relativ klein. Sie ist fast komplett von Strand umgeben. Besonders markant ist der große Hauptstrand an der Westseite der Insel, wo auch eine kleine Strandbar aufgebaut ist.

Die Strände auf Thulhagiri Island sind ein Traum und bieten genau das, was du von einem typischen Malediven-Postkartenmotiv erwartest: Palmen, weißen, feinen Sand und ein leuchtend türkises Meer. Diese war für mich definitiv eine der schönsten Inseln, die ich bisher besucht habe!

2 bunte Vögel in der Inselmitte von Thulhagiri Island, Malediven
Die Insel beherbergt auch viele bunte Vögel, die hier frei leben

Weg zum Hauptstrand und der Beach Bar im Thulhagiri Island Resort, Malediven

Marcel und seine Frau am Strand von Thulhagiri Island, Malediven
Thulhagiri Island ist auch für Pärchen und Hochzeitsreisende eine gute Wahl
Das Coconut Spa mitten auf dem Wasser
Das Coconut Spa

Wasservillen

Für jeden, der auf die Malediven kommt, ist es sicherlich ein Traum, in einer Wasservilla zu wohnen. Auch wir haben uns ein paar Nächte in den Wasservillen gegönnt, von denen es insgesamt 34 vor der Insel gibt.

Für einen Preis von durchschnittlich etwa 400 Euro (Nebensaison ist etwas günstiger) kannst du mitten über dem Indischen Ozean wohnen und von der Terrasse direkt ins Meer springen oder schnorcheln gehen. Oder wie wäre es mit einem Glass Bottom Tisch, wo du unter deinen Bungalow gucken kannst? Dies sind definitiv die Highlights der Wasserbungalows im Thulhagiri Island Resort.

Terrasse mit Aussicht aufs Meer in den Wasservillen vom Thulhagiri Island Resort

Treppe von der Wasservilla direkt ins Meer
Von der Terrasse aus kannst du direkt ins Meer gehen
Glass Bottom Table in den Wasservillen des Thulhagiri Island Resort, Malediven
Glass Bottom Table

Ansonsten waren die Zimmer relativ gut ausgestattet und hatten alles, was du benötigst. Ein sehr gemütliches Bett, eine Klimaanlage, einen Kühlschrank und Fernseher. Sehr schön fand ich, dass alle Möbel im Zimmer aus Holz oder Bambus gemacht sind. Die Zimmer waren immer sauber und die Jungs vom Housekeeping kamen 2 Mal am Tag vorbei.

Eine der Wasservillen von Innen, Thulhagiri Island Resort, Malediven

Auch WLAN ist in den Wasservillen vorhanden, jedoch war die Verbindung nicht immer die beste. Vermutlich lag es daran, dass unser Bungalow weiter weg von den Inselmitte war, denn je näher du der Insel kommst, desto besser wurde die Verbindung. Da ich aber eigentlich gar nicht mit WLAN in den Wasservillen gerechnet habe, war dies eine positive Überraschung. In dieser Preiskategorie hätten die Zimmer zugegeben insgesamt einen leicht besseren Zustand haben können. Alles in allem, fanden meine Frau und ich den Aufenthalt aber super.

Strandvillen

Der Wechsel von der Wasservilla zur Strandvilla, die ich beide getrennt gebucht habe, verlief ohne Probleme. Auch hier mussten wir uns nicht um das Gepäck kümmern und fanden es nach dem 2. Check-In wieder im Zimmer vor.

Das Thulhagiri Island Resort hat insgesamt 50 Strandvillen verschiedener Kategorien/Größen, die alle entlang der Ost- und Nordküste, sowie in der Nähe vom großen Hauptstrand entlang aufgebaut sind. Unsere Strandvilla lag an der Ostküste, etwa in der Nähe vom Swimming Pool.

Marcel im Pool mit Aussicht auf den Ozean und die Wasservillen
Türkis, türkiser: der große Swimmingpool mit Aussicht

Trotz des niedrigeren Preises war unser Strandbungalow sogar noch besser ausgestattet und innen einen Tick größer als der Wasserbungalow. Das Zimmer machte definitiv einen noch besseren Eindruck und der Strandabschnitt war sehr schön. Das WLAN funktioniere einwandfrei und auch das Badezimmer war insgesamt etwas schöner. Falls dein Budget für einen Malediven Urlaub also nicht so groß ist, kann ich dir auf jeden Fall einen längeren Aufenthalt in den Strandvillen empfehlen. Wenn du dennoch unbedingt im Wasserbungalow übernachten möchtest, dann buche einfach eine Nacht.

Zimmer einer Beach Villa im Thulhagiri Island Resort, Malediven

Essen

Das Essen im Thulhagiri Island Resort hat mich sehr positiv überrascht und unsere Erwartungen wurden mehr als übertroffen. Wir fanden die Frühstücksauswahl sehr gut und auch das Mittag- sowie Abendessen war lecker. Fast alles, was wir probiert haben, hat uns super gefallen: Fisch-Curry, Steaks, Gemüse, Pasta-Gerichte und sehr vieles mehr. Eine kleine Auswahl an Desserts und Früchten gab es ebenfalls.

Außenbereich vom Restaurant im Thulhagiri Island Resort auf den Malediven
Frühstück with a view: Außenbereich des Restaurants

Frühstück im Restaurant vom Thulhagiri Island Resort, Malediven

Frühstücksbuffet und Zubereitung von Eiern im Thulhagiri Island Resort, Malediven
Das Restaurant bietet ein großes Frühstücksbuffet und auch Eier jeglicher Art werden frisch zubereitet

Dir wird gleich zu Anfang ein Tisch zugewiesen, der den ganzen Aufenthalt für dich reserviert ist. Gleichzeitig kommt meistens auch nur ein Kellner zu dir, der sich um dich kümmert und dir Getränke etc. bringt. Denke also daran, hier ein wenig Kleingeld (Dollars/Euros) für das Trinkgeld mitzunehmen.

Mittagsbuffet im Restaurant des Thulhagiri Island Resorts, Malediven
Auch mittags und abends gibt es eine gute Auswahl an Essen

Tipp: Für einen Aufpreis von 60 US-Dollar pro Person/pro Tag kannst du auch auf All Inklusive upgraden. Normalerweise hast du Halbpension (Half Board). Das All Inklusive Menü bietet zusätzlich eine Reihe von Nachmittags-Snacks (leckere Sandwiches etc.), eine gute Auswahl an Getränken/Cocktails und natürlich das Abendessen. Vor allem, wenn du viel trinken möchtest, kann sich das für dich lohnen. Solltest du den Aufenthalt auf eigene Faust buchen, z.B. über Booking, kontaktiere das Hotel rechtzeitig und frage nach einem All Inklusive Upgrade. Bezahlen wirst du es vor Ort in Bar oder per Kreditkarte. Bei All Inklusive kannst du dann auch kostenlos Schnorchel-Equipment ausleihen.

Die Bar im Thulhagiri Island Resort auf den Malediven
Die Bar im Thulhagiri Island Resort

Fazit

Unser Aufenthalt im Thulhagiri Island Resort war insgesamt fantastisch. Meine Frau und ich hatten eine tolle Zeit und würden noch mal wiederkommen. Das Personal war immer sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit, die Strände der Insel sind ein Traum und auch die Anreise war sehr einfach. Das Thulhagiri ist eine gute Wahl, wenn du eine vergleichsweise günstige Resort-Insel auf den Malediven besuchen möchtest.

Marcel am Strand von Thulhagiri Island in den Malediven

Das Thulhagiri Island Resort & Spa hier buchen