Dieser Artikel ist auch verfügbar auf: Deutsch

The KL City Gallery is all about the Malaysian capital Kuala Lumpur. The metropolis has an interesting history and has developed a lot over the centuries. In the KL City Gallery you can get to know the history of Kuala Lumpur and get a great insight.

Kuala Lumpur – visiting the KL City Gallery

The KL City Gallery at the Merdeka Square of Kuala Lumpur

You can find out everything about the KL City Gallery in this article, including opening times, costs, and a personal review.


How to get to Kuala Lumpur

Accommodation in Kuala Lumpur – our hotel tip

Kuala Lumpur: Tours and tickets


The KL City Gallery

The first thing you see from the KL City Gallery is the old colonial building and the ‘I ♥ KL’ sign in front of it. Many visitors stop here first to take a photo for their memories before they even enter the KL City Gallery.

'I love KL' sign in front of the KL City Gallery

Admittedly, we are not the biggest fans of museums and rarely visit them. However, the KL City Gallery is only partly a museum. It is also an interesting information center for tourists, where you can learn about the history of Kuala Lumpur and Malaysia.

Entrance to the KL City Gallery in Kuala Lumpur

The entrance fee is currently 10 MYR to support the project and the expansion of the elaborate models. Admission is still free for visitors under 3 years and over 65 years. It is open daily from 9.00 A.M. to 6.30 P.M.

Info: On special occasions such as Christmas, New Year, or other public holidays you can often visit the KL City Gallery for free.

Tickets for the KL City Gallery in Kuala Lumpur

KL City Gallery exhibitions

The KL City Gallery comes in a colonial style on the outside and totally modern on the inside. In addition to exhibitions on old Kuala Lumpur with texts on history, there are models from Little India, the Sultan Abdul Samad Building, or the skyline of Kuala Lumpur.

Exhibition on the old Kuala Lumpur in the KL City Gallery

Exhibition on Merdeka Square in the KL City Gallery

Little India in the KL City Gallery of Kuala Lumpur

Kuala Lumpur skyline sculpture in the KL City Gallery

Model of the Sultan Abdul Samad Building in Kuala Lumpur

The miniature version of Kuala Lumpur’s city is the highlight for many visitors. Here you will be shown interesting facts on a huge display behind the model. Including many future projects that will be carried out in Kuala Lumpur.

Exhibition on the future version of Kuala Lumpur, KL City Gallery

Beyond the Horizon - future Kuala Lumpur model in the KL City Gallery

KL City Gallery souvenir shop

It then continues to a few small last exhibition models of Kuala Lumpur before you can leave the KL City Gallery through the souvenir shop. Here you can take a souvenir from Kuala Lumpur with you: everyone will find the right one, from models of the Petronas Tower to key rings or wood carvings. However, it is of course not a must to buy a souvenir, so do not feel pressured to do so. You can simply leave the KL City Gallery.

Souvenir shop at the exit of the KL City Gallery, Kuala Lumpur

Conclusion on the KL City Gallery

A short visit is highly recommended, especially if this is your first time in Kuala Lumpur and you want to learn more about the capital of Malaysia. The KL City Gallery is right next to Merdeka Square (from the Sultan Abdul Samad Building on the left side of the large square) and you can connect it with other Kuala Lumpur attractions.

Plan your trip to Kuala Lumpur now

More hotel recommendations for Kuala Lumpur:


Have you visited the KL City Gallery yourself? How did you like the Kuala Lumpur exhibitions? Leave us your feedback.

This post is also available in: English

Die KL City Gallery dreht sich ganz um die malaysische Hauptstadt Kuala Lumpur. Die Millionenmetropole hat eine interessante Geschichte und hat sich über die Jahrhunderte stark entwickelt. In der KL City Gallery kannst du dich mit der Geschichte von Kuala Lumpur befassen und einen tollen Einblick bekommen.

Kuala Lumpur – zu Besuch in der KL City Gallery

Die KL City Gallery am Merdeka Square von Kuala Lumpur

Was du in der KL City Gallery sehen kannst, wann sie geöffnet ist und was ein Besuch kostet, kannst du in unserem Erfahrungsbericht nachlesen.


Anreise nach Kuala Lumpur

Übernachtung in Kuala Lumpur – unser Hoteltipp

Kuala Lumpur: Touren und Tickets


Die KL City Gallery

Das erste, was du von der KL City Gallery siehst, ist das alte Kolonialgebäude und das „I ♥ KL“ Schild davor. Hier halten viele Besucher zuerst an, um ein Erinnerungsfoto zu machen, bevor sie die KL City Gallery überhaupt betreten.

'I love KL' Schild vor der KL City Gallery

Zugegeben, wir sind nicht die größten Fans von Museen und gehen dort selten hinein. Die KL City Gallery ist jedoch auch nur zum Teil ein Museum, denn es ist gleichzeitig ein interessant eingerichtetes Informationscenter für Touristen, wo du etwas über die Geschichte von Kuala Lumpur und Malaysia erfahren kannst.

Eingang der KL City Gallery in Kuala Lumpur

Der Eintritt kostet aktuell RM 10, um das Projekt und den Ausbau der aufwendigen Modelle zu unterstützen. Für Besucher unter 3 Jahren und über 65 Jahren ist der Eintritt weiterhin kostenlos. Geöffnet ist täglich von 9.00 bis 18.30 Uhr.

Info: An besonderen Tagen wie z.B. Weihnachten, Neujahr oder anderen Feiertagen kannst du die KL City Gallery oft kostenlos besuchen.

Tickets für die KL City Gallery in Kuala Lumpur

KL City Gallery Ausstellungen

Außen im Kolonialstil, innen total modern kommt die KL City Gallery daher. Neben Ausstellungen zum alten Kuala Lumpur mit Texten zur Geschichte, gibt es Modelle von Little India, dem Sultan Abdul Samad Building oder der Skyline von Kuala Lumpur.

Ausstellung zum alten Kuala Lumpur in der KL City Gallery

Ausstellung zum Merdeka Square in der KL City Gallery

Little India in der KL City Gallery von Kuala Lumpur

Kuala Lumpur Skyline Skulptur in der KL City Gallery

Modell des Sultan Abdul Samad Building in Kuala Lumpur

Für viele Besucher ist die Miniaturversion von Kuala Lumpurs City das Highlight. Hier werden dir interessante Fakten auf einem riesigen Display hinter dem Modell gezeigt. Darunter auch viele zukünftige Projekte, die in Kuala Lumpur durchgeführt werden.

Ausstellung zur Zukunftsversion von Kuala Lumpur, KL City Gallery

Beyond the Horizon - zukünftiges Kuala Lumpur Modell in der KL City Gallery

KL City Gallery Souvenirshop

Weiter geht es dann zu ein paar kleinen letzten Ausstellungsmodellen zu Kuala Lumpur, bevor du die KL City Gallery durch den Souvenirshop verlassen kannst. Hier kannst du dir ein Andenken aus Kuala Lumpur mitnehmen: von Modellen der Petronas Tower über Schlüsselanhänger oder Holzschnitzereien findest jeder das Richtige. Es ist jedoch natürlich kein Muss ein Souvenir zu kaufen, fühle dich also nicht dazu gedrängt. Du kannst die KL City Gallery einfach verlassen.

Souvenirshop am Ausgang der KL City Gallery, Kuala Lumpur

Fazit zur KL City Gallery

Ein kurzer Besuch ist sehr zu empfehlen, gerade wenn du das erste Mal in Kuala Lumpur bist und mehr über die Hauptstadt von Malaysia erfahren möchtest. Die KL City Gallery liegt gleich neben dem Merdeka Square (vom Sultan Abdul Samad Gebäude aus auf der linken Seite des großen Platzes) und du kannst sie somit super mit anderen Sehenswürdigkeiten Kuala Lumpurs verbinden.

Plane jetzt deine Reise nach Kuala Lumpur

Weitere Hotelempfehlungen für Kuala Lumpur:


Hast du die KL City Gallery selbst schon besucht? Wie haben dir die Ausstellungen zu Kuala Lumpur gefallen? Hinterlasse uns dein Feedback.